A Court of Thorns and Roses in order, the romantic fantasy series by Sarah J. Maas

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a romantic fantasy series for young adults written by American author Sarah J. Maas.

Reading A Court of Thorns and Roses Series in Order

The chronological order and the publication order are the same.

Feyre’s Story

The trilogy focuses on the tale of Feyre, as she is brought into the faerie lands of Prythian, after murdering a faerie.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (2015)
A Court of Mist and Fury (2016)
A Court of Wings and Ruin (2017)


A Court of Frost and Starlight is the first novella in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, and can also be considered the fourth book in the series. It is set after the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin, and act as much as a follow-up to the first series as a prequel to the spin-off novel.

A Court of Frost and Starlight (novella, 2018)


Following the success of the first books, Sarah J. Maas has decided to continue writing books in the series. The first spin-off book is set after the events of A Court of Frost and Starlight, and is told from the perspectives of Nesta and Cassian. two other books (and a novella) are planned.

A Court of Silver Flames (2021)

Companion Book

A Court of Thorns and Roses Coloring Book (2017)

A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Set by Juniper Books

More about A Court of Thorns and Roses

The Story of A Court of Thorns and Roses Series

It follows the journey of huntress Feyre Acheron who finds herself entwined with faeries after unknowingly killing one.

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill — the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator, and killing something so precious comes at a price…

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jeweled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

Does A Court of Thorns and Roses need to be read in order?

You need to read A Court of Thorns and Roses in order to follow the plot.

How many books are there in A Court of Thorns and Roses?

The series consists of four novels and one novella. It’s important to notice that the first three main books and the novella tell Feyre’s story and this part is considered completed.

The fourth book in the series is centered on Nesta and Cassian.

Has the A Court of Thorns and Roses books series ended?

For the moment, there has been no news of a new book in ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ series, though it was rumored at some point that Sarah J. Maas planned for 6 books and 2 novellas in total.

One inspiration behind A Court of Thorns and Roses Series

The series is inspired by multiple fairy tales, including The Beauty and the Beast, Hades and Persephone or the Tale of Tam Lin.

Is there an adaptation of A Court of Thorns and Roses?

Sarah J. Maas is working on a television adaptation of ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ with writer Ronald D. Moore (Outlander) for Hulu. The project is still in the development stage.

About the author of the series

Who is Sarah J. Maas?

Sarah J. Maas is a best-selling American author born on March 5, 1986 in New York City. She grew up on the Upper West Side of Manhattan and majored in creative writing and minored in religious studies.

She began writing at a young age and began what would become Throne of Glass, when she was sixteen. Not only that but she first self-published several chapters on FictionPress.com, where it was one of the most popular stories on the site. She removed it later when she decided to publish it.

It didn’t take long for the book to be picked up by Bloomsbury, and was released in 2012 to generally positive reviews. This was the start of her first fantasy series, and she became a New York Times young adult best-seller with the second novel.

Since then, we can say that success follows her around, as she has sold over twelve million copies of her books and her work has been translated into 37 languages.

What has she written beyond A Court of Thorns and Roses?

Before creating A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J. Maas wrote Throne of Glass, a fantasy series about an assassin named Celaena Sardothien living in a corrupt kingdom with a tyrannical ruler, the King of Adarlan where she uncovers a conspiracy.

She has also launched in 2020 a fantasy series for adults called Crescent City, taking place in a city where humans, shifters, faeries, and other supernatural creatures cohabit.

What to read after A Court of Thorns and Roses?

Beyond Sarah J. Maas’ other works, you can also check out the two following books, cited by Maas as being the ones that began her love for reading and writing fantasy:
Sabriel, written by Garth Nix and part of his Old Kingdom series
The Hero and the Crown, written by Robin McKinley

And finally, a few suggestions for books considered similar to ACOTAR:
From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Serpent & Dove series by Shelby Mahurin
Adrian X Isolde series by Scarlett St Clair