A Series of Unfortunate Events Books in Order

A Series of Unfortunate Events is a series of thirteen children’s novels written by Daniel Handler under the pen name Lemony Snicket.

The book series tells the story of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, three children who fall victim to ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events.’ Following the untimely demise of their parents and the destruction of their home, their fate is to fall into the clutches of the ambitious and nefarious Count Olaf. The man desires with all his heart only one thing: the Baudelaires’ inheritance!

From one foster house to another, the children are placed in the hands of inept or unsympathetic guardians, all the while being pursued by the Count. They can only count on themselves to surmount every misadventure and discover the truth about their parents and their links to a mysterious secret society.

How to read ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’ in Order

There is only one way to read the ‘ASOUE‘, it’s in publication order! But know that there is more that there are more books set in this universe, with a prequel series, a collection of letters, and an unauthorized Autobiography of Lemony Snicket!

Unfortunate Events, The Classic Series

You should know that as an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Will this attract Count Olaf’s attention towards the poor Baudelaire children? Let’s hope not!

This is the Complete misadventures of Violet, Klaus & Sunny Baudelaire in one book set, available on Amazon.

All the Wrong Questions, the Prequel Series

Also written by Lemony Snicket, All the Wrong Questions is a four-part young adult series that follows the character’s upbringing working for V.F.D.

Who Could That Be at This Hour? (2012)
When Did You See Her Last? (2013)
Shouldn’t You Be in School? (2014)
Why Is This Night Different From All Other Nights? (2015)

A companion novel, File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents, was released in 2014.

More Books Related to the Unfortunate Events

Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography (2002) – an autobiography of Lemony Snicket.
The Beatrice Letters (2006) – a collection of letters between Lemony Snicket, Beatrice Baudelaire, and a second Beatrice. Published shortly before the thirteenth and final installment.

You can also read online Mysterious Messages Concerning the Dismal Dinner (2004), a 4-page story set before The Bad Beginning, at the Baudelaire parents’ house.

More about A Series of Unfortunate Events

A Series of Unfortunate Events: Reading Level

Though every child is different, you could ask yourself if yours is old enough to tackle the dark adventures of the Baudelaires. The book series is often presented as a middle-grade or young adult series and it is recommended for readers aged 9+.

The Baudelaires in other media

The tribulations of the Baudelaires have been brought on other media, for everyone to discover the many malicious plans of Count Olaf to obtain the family fortune. Here’s a little list for you:

A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004, movie)
A Series of Unfortunate Events (2017-2019, TV series)
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events (video game, 2004)
The Tragic Treasury: Songs from A Series of Unfortunate Events (concept album, 2006)

Don’t know what to read after A Series of Unfortunate Events? Maybe, you’ll be interested in The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, chronicling the adventures of four children involved with the strange Nicholas Benedict and his guild of assistants who are working to prevent Benedict’s twin from taking over the world; or The Alcatraz series, a humorous fantasy adventure series for children written by Brandon Sanderson.