After Books in Order

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The After is a young adult romance series of novels written by American author Anna Todd.

Reading the After Series in Order

Once you finish reading the After series, there is a spin-off series focusing on Landon Gibson’s life after the events of After Ever Happy.

After (2014)
After We Collided (2014)
After We Fell (2014)
After Ever Happy (2015)
Before (Prequel Novel, 2015)

The Landon Series in Order

Nothing More (2016)
Nothing Less (2016)

The Story of the After Series

He is the official presentation for the first book of the After series:

“There was the time before Tessa met Hardin, and then there’s everything AFTER… Life will never be the same. #Hessa

Tessa is a good girl with a sweet, reliable boyfriend back home. She’s got direction, ambition, and a mother who’s intent on keeping her that way.

But she’s barely moved into her freshman dorm when she runs into Hardin. With his tousled brown hair, cocky British accent, and tattoos, Hardin is cute and different from what she’s used to.

But he’s also rude—to the point of cruelty, even. For all his attitude, Tessa should hate Hardin. And she does—until she finds herself alone with him in his room. Something about his dark mood grabs her, and when they kiss it ignites within her a passion she’s never known before.

He’ll call her beautiful, then insist he isn’t the one for her and disappear again and again. Despite the reckless way he treats her, Tessa is compelled to dig deeper and find the real Hardin beneath all his lies. He pushes her away again and again, yet every time she pushes back, he only pulls her in deeper.

Tessa already has the perfect boyfriend. So why is she trying so hard to overcome her own hurt pride and Hardin’s prejudice about nice girls like her?

Unless…could this be love?”

The box set for the After Series published by Gallery Books.

More about the After series

Does the After series need to be read in order?

The best way to go is the publication order. Even if the novel “Before” is presented as a prequel to the series, it has to be read after the fourth book.

As for the Landon series, being a sequel, it’s also better to read them after the main series ended.

How many books are there in the the After series?

The After series is composed of five published novels. In some countries, some of them have been published as episodes, but the story is the same of course.

As for the Landon series, it’s a duology, two books.

Has the After books series ended?

Yes, the After series ended a while back. It was published quite rapidly, from 2014 to 2015–and the Landon series arrived in 2016.

One inspiration behind the After

The After series began on Wattpad in 2013 as a One Direction fanfiction starring Harry Styles. It certainly evolved beyond that since.

Is there an adaptation of the After books series?

The After series was adapted as a film series on the Amazon Prime Vidéo streaming service. After was released in 2019 starring Josephine Langford as Tessa, and Hero Fiennes Tiffin as Hardin,

The sequels came at the rhythm of one a year: After We Collided in 2020, After We Fell in 2021, and After Ever Happy in 2022.

A fifth installment titled After Everything is coming soon. Also, a prequel film and a sequel focusing on the children of the series’ main characters are also in development.

A comic book adaptation is also available. After: The Graphic Novel was published in May 2022, with illustrations by Pablo Andres.

About the author of the After series

Who is Anna Todd?

Anna Todd started her writing career by publishing her fanfiction work on the social storytelling platform Wattpad. She started by writing stories, a chapter almost daily for over a year, on her phone with the app in 2013.

It became a phenomenon and the print edition of the After series was published in 2014 by Gallery Books (Simon & Schuster) before getting translated into several languages.

What has Anna Todd written beyond the After series?

Once she concluded the After series and the Landon duology, Anna Todd published The Spring Girls: A Modern-Day Retelling of Little Women in 2018.

Since then, Todd opened her own production company, Frayed Pages, and launched her screenwriter career by working on the film adaptations of her books.

in 2021, she launched her own imprint in partnership with Wattpad and started to publish her new series, the Brightest Stars series.