Anne of Green Gables Books in Order, L. M. Montgomery’s classic series

Anne of Green Gables, written by Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery, is a beloved classic that has inspired numerous adaptations across TV, film, radio, and stage.

The story follows Anne Shirley, from her childhood to adulthood. As an orphan, she goes to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert on their farm, Green Gables, in the fictional town of Avonlea on Prince Edward Island. Anne is a bright, talkative, and imaginative girl with red hair and freckles and soon enough, the Cuthberts can hardly recall what Green Gables was like before their adopted daughter arrived.

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. Should you decide to make a purchase through these links, a small commission may find its way to me.

How to read Anne of Green Gables

We often recommend to follow the publication order, especially for first-time readers. That’s not the case here! For once, dive directly into the chronological order of the series.

The adventures of Anne Shirley have not been written in order, as author L.M. Mongtmorey mostly writes each book as the last. Following success, she has to fill the gaps. It obviously makes Anne’s timeline more confusing and, as such, the chronological order is preferred.

Anne of Green Gables series in Chronological Order

Anne of Green Gables (1908) (Anne Shirley is 11-16)
Anne of Avonlea (1909) (Anne is 16-18)
Anne of the Island (1915) (Anne is 18-22)
Anne of Windy Poplars aka Anne of Windy Willows (1936) (Anne is 22-25)
Anne’s House of Dreams (1917) (Anne is 25-27)
Anne of Ingleside (1939) (Anne is 34-40)

The next books follow Anne’s children or other family friends. Anne is still present, but she’s not the main focus.

Rainbow Valley (1919) (Anne is 41)
Rilla of Ingleside (1921) (Anne is 49-53)

The Complete Anne of Green Gables Collection, published by Arcturus.

Anne’s Related books

The Complete Chronicles of Avonlea (2023) – The book collects all the short stories previously published in the two collection of short stories: Chronicles of Avonlea and Further Chronicles of Avonlea. Anne stars in two stories (“The Hurrying of Ludovic” and “The Little Brown Book of Miss Emily”) and has a small supporting role in another (“The Courting of Prissy Strong”). She is approximately 20.
The Blythes Are Quoted (2009) – Considered Montgomery’s final sequel to her series, this is a mix of stories, poems, and vignettes, presenting snapshots of new and familiar residents of Glen St. Mary, of Anne and her family. Anne is 53-75.
Before Green Gables (2008) – With authorization of heirs of L. M. Montgomery, Canadian author Budge Wilson wrote a prequel story exploring Anne’s difficult life before her arrival at Green Gables. The book was released as part of Puffin’s celebration of Anne Shirley’s centennial anniversary in 2008.
Marilla of Green Gables (2018) – Another prequel story, this time from American writer Sarah McCoy and focused on the life of spinster Marilla Cuthbert.

More about Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables: Reading Level

Anne Shirley continues to be a favorite among young readers, captivating those aged 8 and older. However, for reluctant or younger readers, her vivid descriptions of Prince Edward Island’s scenery might pose a challenge.

Anne Shirley in other media

The adventures of Anne Shirley have been brought on other media, for everyone to discover her enchanting world. Here’s a little list of the most famous adaptations:

  • Anne of Green Gables (1979, Anime Series), also known as Akage no An is a Japanese animated television series produced by Nippon Animation.
  • Anne of Green Gables, a CBC four-hour television mini series directed by Kevin Sullivan with Megan Follows as Anne consisting of Anne of Green Gables (1985, TV Movie), Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel (1987, TV Movie), Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (2000, TV Movie) and Anne of Green Gables: A New Beginning (2008), a prequel not based on the novels.
  • Anne with an E (2017-2019, TV Series), a modern adaptation created by Moira Walley-Beckett with Amybeth McNulty as Anne.

Don’t know what to read after Anne of Green Gables? Maybe you’ll be interested in exploring the delightful tales of Emily of New Moon by Lucy Maud Montgomery, chronicling the adventures of another imaginative and spirited young girl in the enchanting landscape of Prince Edward Island. You might enjoy Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter, following the story of Pollyanna Whittier, an optimistic and spirited orphan who brings joy and positivity to everyone she meets.