Flavia de Luce Books in Order (The Buckshaw Chronicles)

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Flavia de Luce is a mystery series by Alan Bradley following a smart 11-year-old amateur sleuth living in a 1950s British village. The series is also sometimes called the Buckshaw Chronicles.

Reading Flavia de Luce Series in Order

The chronological order for the Flavia de Luce series is the same as the publication order.

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (2009)
The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag (2010)
A Red Herring Without Mustard (2011)
I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (2011)
Speaking from Among the Bones (2013)
The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (2014)
The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse (2014, short story)
As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust (2015)
Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d (2016)
The Grave’s a Fine and Private Place (2018)
The Golden Tresses of the Dead (2019)

The Story of Flavia de Luce

Young Flavia de Luce is not your typical 11-year old girl. From a wealthy family, Flavia is an aspiring chemist with a passion for poison,

It comes as no surprise that, at the once-grand mansion of Buckshaw, Flavia becomes intrigued by a series of inexplicable events: A dead bird is found on the doorstep, a postage stamp bizarrely pinned to its beak. Then, hours later, Flavia finds a man lying in the cucumber patch and watches him as he takes his dying breath.

For Flavia, who is both appalled and delighted, life begins in earnest when murder comes to Buckshaw. “I wish I could say I was afraid, but I wasn’t. Quite the contrary. This was by far the most interesting thing that had ever happened to me in my entire life.”

And it would not be the last, as it is only the first mystery in the Flavia de Luce series…

More about the Flavia de Luce series

What age is the Flavia de Luce series for?

Flavia de Luce is a young amateur sleuth, but it doesn’t mean her adventures are only for your readers. The Flavia de Luce will delight readers of any age.

The book are fit for young readers, as the heroine is still an average eleven-year-old, and the plots does not contain elements for adult-only (the series has no sex and only low violence).

But the series is not reserved to child only, with great investigations and exploration of death, anonymosity, loneliness and more.

Does the Flavia de Luce series need to be read in order?

You can read the Flavia de Luce series out of order, or even as stand-alone books. That said, there are discoveries to be made along the way for those who experience the series in order.

How many books are there in the Flavia series?

The Flavia de Luce series is, at this date, a 10-part mystery series, with The Golden Tresses of the Dead the last book released in the series.

Where can I find Flavia de Luce’s short story, The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse?

There is only one Flavia de Luce short story, called The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse, and it is only available in e-book.

Is the Flavia de Luce series over?

For the moment, author Alan Bradley and Flavia de Luce are taking a break, though it has not been officially confirmed that The Golden Tresses of the Dead would be the last.

The author has left the door open for a new book in the Flavia de Luce series, as he said to thestar.com: “It’s up to Flavia, hugely, and whether Flavia is interested in sharing more of her ideas”

Is there an adaptation of the Flavia de Luce books series?

The exploits of our super-sleuth will maybe one day be brought to life on the small screen, though when is the real mystery.

For a time, author Alan Bradley resisted selling the rights to the book series, until writer-director Sam Mendes became attached to the project in 2012.

But nothing happened, and the latest news on the subject was in 2019 when there was a Flavia television series in the works for Canadian channel CBC.

About Alan Bradley, the author of The Flavia de Luce series

Born in 1938 in Toronto, Ontario, Alan Bradley had a long career in television broadcasting before taking early retirement to turn his full attention to writing.

He has written adult short stories that have been broadcast on CBC radio and published in several literary journals. With a career in broadcast engineering, it makes sense that Bradley chose to write screenplays. And he did that for nine years, before being inspired to write a non-fiction book, called Ms Holmes of Baker Street and a memoir called The Shoebox Bible.

It was not long after that the first book in the Flavia de Luce series was published with great success. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie won several prizes, including the 2009 Agatha Award for Best First Novel, and became a New York Times bestseller.

The Flavia de Luce series is published in thirty-nine countries and thirty-six languages.