Grishaverse Reading order, the World of Shadow and Bone

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The Grishaverse is a fictional universe created by Leigh Bardugo, now a Netflix television series!

Reading Grishaverse in Order

The world of the Grishaverse consists of one trilogy, two duology and a few short stories.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (+ Demon in the Wood + The Tailor)

First (and original) entry point in the series. The story centers around Alina Starkovis a young woman from the Nation of Ravka seen as a insignificant and disposable person until she unleashed a dormant magic not even she knew she possessed. In a lavish world of royalty and intrigue where darkness reigns, Alina Starkov has the power to save her country, but it may come with a terrible price.

Shadow and Bone (2012)
Siege and Storm (2013)
Ruin and Rising (2014)

Bardugo has also written two short stories related to The Grisha Trilogy. “Demon in the Wood” centers around The Darkling’s backstory, and takes place before the trilogy, whereas “The Tailor,” centers around the character Genya Safin and takes place during Shadow and Bone. It is better to read those two stories at least after the first book.

The Tailor (2013) Included as bonus content in the paperback of Siege and Storm (US)
– The Demon in the Wood: A Darkling Prequel Story (2015)
Included as bonus content in the paperback of Ruin and Rising (Barnes and Noble edition) or as a graphic novel.

The Shadow and Bone trilogy Boxed Set

Six of Crows Duology

Second entry point in the series. Six of Crows follows Kaz Brekker’s crew of thugs and thieves. This duology takes place two years after the end of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, but focuses on a new set of characters and different plots in a different country. You may get spoiled for some events in the Shadow and Bone trilogy, but the duology has also been written in a way that don’t require any background information. Some readers advise reading it first, as it is considered better than the trilogy.

Six of Crows (2015)
Crooked Kingdom (2016)

King of Scars/Nikolai Duology

Taking place one year after the Six of Crows duology. It is recommended to have read the Shadow and Bone trilogy and the Six of Crows duology first.

King of Scars (2019)
Rule of Wolves (2021)

Companion Books (you can read them whenever you want)

The Language of Thorns (2017)
A collection of six stories that act as folk tales for the Grisha universe.

The Lives of Saint (2020)
featuring tales of saints drawn from the beloved novels and beyond.

The Severed Moon (2019
A journal of writing prompts and quotes drawn from the series.

Leigh Bardugo Collector’s Edition 3 Books Set (Shadow and Bone, Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom), published by Orion Books ltd.

More about Grishaverse

What does Grisha means?

A Grisha is the name given to a human who practices the Small science – the art of manipulating matter in its most basic form.

Will there be another book or short story set in the Grishaverse?

This is an open question, as author Leigh Bardugo herself said she doesn’t know for the moment. In an interview with in 2021, as the question ‘what’s next for the Grishaverse?‘, she answered:

I really don’t know! With the show premiering on Netflix … this seemed like the right moment to step back. There are so many stories I want to write and worlds I want to explore. I have every intention of returning to the Grishaverse; I just don’t know when. So I wrote Rule of Wolves as a finale, a “farewell for now.”

The inspiration behind Grishaverse

The Grishaverse is heavily influenced by Tsarist Russian and Slavic cultures. Better yet, several books to read to know more about those influences were listed on! Here are the books in question:

Following are the books that gave historical inspiration for Ravka and the Shadow and Bone Trilogy:

And the books that gave historical inspiration for Kerch and the Six of Crows Duology:

Shadow and Bone, the television adaptation

The Grisha universe has been adapted for television by writer Eric Heisserer for the streaming service Netflix since 2021.

The show features Jessie Mei Li as Alina Starkov, Archie Renaux as Malyen “Mal” Oretsev, Freddy Carter as Kaz Brekker, Amita Suman as Inej Ghafa, Kit Young as Jesper Fahey, and Ben Barnes as General Aleksander Kirigan.

Shadow and Bone is available on Netflix

About Leigh Bardugo, the author of the Grishaverse

A short biography

Leigh Bardugo was born on April 6, 1975, in Jerusalem, Israel. She grew up in Los Angeles, California, and went to Yale University, where she studied English and Russian literature. Before finding success with her first book, she worked as a copywriter and journalist, as well as a makeup artist.

Her first novel, Shadow and Bone, was released in 2021 and was a massive hit. It was also her first book in the Grisha trilogy and set in the Grishaverse. Bardugo wrote seven books in that universe (as you can see in this article!) which have been translated into over 30 languages and have sold millions of copies worldwide.

Beyond Grishaverse: The Other books by Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo wrote two She wrote two young adult novel for DC Icons:

Wonder Woman: Warbringer (2017)
Batman: Nightwalker (2018)

She also has an ongoing paranormal fantasy series about Alex Stern, a high school dropout and homicide survivor who can see ghosts:

Ninth House (2019)
Hell Bent (2023)

Leigh Bardugo has also contributed to a few anthologies, such as “Summer Days and Summer Nights” and “Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy.”

What should you read after the Grisha series?

The Shades of Magic trilogy by V.E. Schwab
The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
The Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch
The Gilded Wolves Trilogy by Roshani Chokshi
The Winternight Trilogy by Katherine Arden