House of Night Reading Order, a P.C. Cast series

written by P.C. Cast and her daughter Kristin Cast, The House of Night is a young adult fantasy novel series chronicling the life of Zoey Redbird, an adolescent who must undergo training to become a vampyre.

For sixteen-year-old Zoey Redbird, it all started when she got a Vampyre Tracker with a crescent moon on her forehead. This signifies her entry to the House of Night, a school for fledgling vampyres. As it wasn’t already enough, Zoey is not your average fledgling. She has been blessed by the vampyre goddess Nyx, which gives her affinity for all five elements—Air, Fire, Water, Earth, and Spirit. However, Zoey soon discovers that she is not the only one with unique powers…

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The World of House of Night

The World of House of Night consists of the main series – which contains sixteen books, a four book sequel series, and a few companion books.

House of Night Reading Order (including the short stories)

Marked (2007)
Betrayed (2007)
Chosen (2008)
Untamed (2008)
Hunted (2009)
Tempted (2009)
Burned (2010)
Awakened (2011)
Dragon’s Oath (2011, novella)
Destined (2011)
Lenobia’s Vow (2012, novella)
Hidden ( 2012)
Neferet’s Curse (2013, novella)
Revealed (2013)
Kalona’s Fall (2014, novella)
Redeemed (2014)

House of Night: Other World, the Sequel to the House of Night Series

This is a direct sequel to House of Night and it is recommended to have read the main series before diving in those books.

Loved (2017)
Lost (2018)
Forgotten (2019)
Found (2020)

House of Night: Other related books

The Fledgling Handbook 101 (2010) – Within these pages you will find information about the history of vampyres and come to a better understanding of your body’s transformation, as well as read words of hope from great vampyres of the past and learn essential foundations of rituals and lore.
The Nyx in the House of Night: Mythology, Folklore (2011) – A 2-color illustrated companion to the House of Night series
House of Night: Legacy (2012) – A graphic novel based on the House of Night novels, Marked and Betrayed, published by Dark Horse Comics.
Wisdom of the House of Night Oracle Cards: A 50-Card Deck and Guidebook (2012) – Packaged in a keepsake box with a guidebook, the deck contains fifty gorgeously illustrated cards, many of which are based on characters in the books.

The inspiration behind writing the House of Night series

Authors often find inspiration in various ways, from day-to-day life to the work of other writers. Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series owes much to the influence of the Aubrey/Maturin series, the same way Patricia C. Wrede found inspiration in the whimsical world of the Oz Books for her Enchanted Forest Chronicles. But authors also start a series because it was suggested to them, as it happened with Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea cycle which was born from a publisher’s request for a fantasy tale aimed at older children.

In the same way, PC Cast started writing House of Night following the suggestion of her agent, as she recalled on

In 2005 my agent, Meredith Bernstein, and I were having dinner at a national romance writers’ convention and she said she had an idea for a new series she’d like me to write. Then she said three words that changed my life: vampire finishing school. She meant me to write a sexy adult college age series, but I was teaching high school, and I immediately thought YA. I used her idea as a springboard, mixed it with biology and matriarchy and magick, and the House of Night was born!

House of Night was the first series that P.C. Cast and her daughter wrote together. After tackling the vampire myth, the duo took an interest in witches with their trilogy Sisters of Salem. For more vampire series, you could be interested in reading the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead or Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire Series.