Jane Austen Mysteries Books in Order, a series by Stephanie Barron

Our recent literary exploration delved into Jane Austen’s world, with the surprising inclusion of dragons. Now, Francine Matthews, writing under the pseudonym Stephanie Barron, offers another perspective in her Jane Austen Mysteries series.

Here, the famous author steps into the role of an amateur sleuth during the Regency era as she often finds herself encountering dead bodies in unexpected places. The books are presented as lost diaries, ostensibly edited by Barron.

In the disclosure of this missive, it is requisite to declare affiliations—links within. Should one, in inclination, make a purchase through these connections, a gratuity may find its path to my coffers.

Reading Being A Jane Austen Mystery Series

The Jane Austen Mysteries is a complete series, consisting of 15 books and 1 short story, released between 1996 and 2023. We recommend reading the series in the publication order, for a better appreciation of the characters’ growth and the time period. With that said, each book typically features a self-contained mystery that is resolved by the end.

Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor (1996)
Jane and the Man of the Cloth (1997)
Jane and the Wandering Eye (1998)
Jane and the Genius of the Place (1999)
Jane and the Stillroom Maid (2000)
Jane and the Prisoner of Wool House (2001)
Jane and the Ghosts of Netley (2003)
Jane and His Lordship’s Legacy (2005)
Jane and the Barque of Frailty (2006)
Jane and the Madness of Lord Byron (2010)
Jane and the Gentleman Rogue” (2011) – short story published in the anthology Jane Austen Made Me Do It
Jane and the Canterbury Tale (2011)
Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas (2014)
Jane and the Waterloo Map (2016)
Jane and the Year without a Summer (2022)
Jane and the Final Mystery (2023)

As a bonus… On Hosting Your Regency-Era Christmas Party is a companion piece to Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas.

The inspiration behind The Jane Austen Mysteries

Of the Jane Austen Mysteries books, Writer Deborah Crombie, known for her Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James series, wrote that they “have a special place in my heart.”

The series follows Jane’s adventures as an extraordinary sleuth and sees the author embroiled in perilous investigations, from uncovering scandals in the opulent ballrooms of London to untangling mysteries amidst the tranquil gardens of her countryside estate.

During an interview with Austenblog, writer Stephanie Barron came back to what led her to write the Jane Austen Mysteries. As the writer explained:

I was pregnant during most of 1994, and I found it a hallucinatory experience. My mind frequently wandered from my usual strict control into fields of semi-conscious wool-gathering, and I was definitely hearing voices—in this case, Jane Austen’s. I’d been reading her extensively that year, and started speaking in what I call Austenese—that passive-construction, sedately curated narrative voice of the late Georgian period—when responding to the simplest question. I realized how effectively her language communicated multiple levels of meaning, particularly the dialogue, and knew that I wanted to be able to use that voice in current fiction. But I was uninterested in writing a continuation of one of Austen’s novels—I firmly believe that as readers, we hold zealously to our individual conceptions of her principal characters, and I didn’t want to violate anyone else’s mental image of Anne Elliot or Eliza Bennet. I felt, however, that Jane herself was less well understood or envisioned by her readers, and that I might usefully embody her in a way readers found interesting. I thought by giving her a cracking good mystery plot to solve, readers might be willing to embrace her as a guide to a very different world of England two hundred years ago.

I also believe that one reason we return again and again to Austen’s novels is due to her profound understanding of the human heart—or in criminal terms, human motivation. She shows us constantly how people manipulate others to get what they want; how they assume masks and deceive; how the women in her stories must in fact be detectives solving the riddle of the men before them—about whom they know very little, and must penetrate (an Austen word) the truth of their characters, because those men and their motives may determine happiness or misery for the rest of the heroines’ lives. Jane was a natural detective, and she lived in an era when there was no formal police force. Everyone was an amateur in her world.

Is there an adaptation of the Jane Austen Mysteries series?

Not all books are destined to become a TV show or a Movie. For the moment, no Jane Austen Mysteries have been adapted.

About Stephanie Barron, author of Being A Jane Austen Mystery Series

Francine Mathews, author of an American writer of mystery and spy fiction, also writes historical mysteries under the name Stephanie Barron. Born in Binghamton, New York, Barron pursued her education at Princeton and Stanford universities before leaving to work at the CIA for several years as an intelligence analyst.

Following the publication of her first book, she decided to become a writer full-time. Her first series features Merry Folger, the latest in a long line of police officers in her family. She also has written books inspired by her time at the CIA.

Under the pen name of Stephanie Barron (her middle and maiden names), she reimagined the author of Pride and Prejudice as a dazzling sleuth, delivering tales of mystery set against historical backdrops.

For more mysteries featuring Jane Austen, you can delve into the Jane Austen Investigates Series by Julia Golding.