Meg Langslow Books in Order: a Cozy Mystery series by Donna Andrews

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The Meg Lanslow mystery series written by Donna Andrews follows a successful decorative blacksmith and an exceptional amateur sleuth in Yorktown, Virginia.

Reading the Meg Langslow Mysteries in Order

The following reading order for the Meg Langslow series includes novels and short stories.

Meg Langslow Books in Chronological Order

– “The Birthday Dinner” (short story, 2004)
Murder with Peacocks (1999)
Murder with Puffins (2000)
– “Night Shades” (short story, 2004)
Revenge of the Wrought Iron Flamingos (2001)
Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon (2003)
We’ll Always Have Parrots (2004)
Owls Well That Ends Well (2005)
No Nest for the Wicket (2006)
The Penguin Who Knew Too Much (2007)
Cockatiels At Seven (2008)
Six Geese A-slaying (2008)
Swan for the Money (2009)
Stork Raving Mad (2010)
The Real Macaw (2011)
Some Like It Hawk (2012)
The Hen of the Baskervilles (2013)
Duck the Halls (2013)
The Good, the Bad, and the Emus (2014)
– “Christmas Trifle” (short story, 2014)
The Nightingale Before Christmas (2014)
Lord of the Wings (2015)
– “A Christmas Rescue” (short story, 2015)
Die Like an Eagle (2016)
Gone Gull (2017)
How the Finch Stole Christmas! (2017)
Toucan Keep a Secret (2018)
Lark! The Herald Angels Sing (2018)
Terns of Endearment (2019)
Owl Be Home for Christmas (2019)
The Falcon Always Wings Twice (2020)
The Gift of the Magpie (2020)
Murder Most Fowl (2021)
The Twelve Jays of Christmas (2021)
Round Up the Usual Peacocks (2022)
Dashing Through the Snowbirds (2022)
Birder, She Wrote (2023)
Let It Crow! Let It Crow! Let It Crow! (2023)

The Meg Langslow Series Thus Far – An eBook bundle collecting books 1-18 in the Meg Langslow series.

More about the Meg Langslow series

The Story of the Meg Langslow Series

Described as combining murder and madcap hilarity with a cast of eccentric oddballs in a small southern town, the Meg Langslow series takes us n Yorktown, Virginia where Meg Lanslow, a successful blacksmith, turns out to be an exceptional amateur sleuth solving local murder mysteries.

Here is the official presentation for the first book in the series, Murder with Peacocks:

“When Meg Langslow is roped into being a bridesmaid for the nuptials of her mother, her brother’s fiancee, and her own best friend, she is apprehensive. Getting the brides to chose their outfits and those of their bridesmaids (and not change their minds three days later), trying to capture the principals long enough to work out details, and even finding peacocks to strut around the garden during the ceremony–these are things Meg can handle.

She can brush off the unfortunate oaf who is smitten with her, and take philosophically her disappointment when she learns that the only eligible man in her small Virginia town (and a delightful hunk he is)is of questionable sexual preference. But even Meg is taken aback when the unpleasant former sister-in-law of Meg’s soon-to-be stepfather disappears and is later found dead.”

Does the Meg Langslow series need to be read in order?

Like a lot of mystery series of that type, you don’t have to read the books in order. The author writes self-contain stories.

Yes, the characters evolve from one murder mystery to the next. Because of that, if you like Meg Langslow, you may want to read the books in order of publication.

The publication order and the chronological order are the same for the Meg Langslow novels, but not if we add the short stories. As Donna Andrews tells it on her own website:

They don’t have to be read in any particular order, but if anyone cares, “Night Shades” probably takes place at some time between Puffins and Flamingos, and “Birthday Dinner” probably happens before Peacocks.

How many books are there in the Meg Langslow series?

As of today, there are 32 full-length novels in the Meg Langslow series, and 4 short stories.

Where can I find Meg Langslow’s short stories?

The Meg Langslow short stories are not collected in one volume. You can find “Night Shades” (short story, 2004) in the anthology Chesapeake Crimes; “The Birthday Dinner” was published in Death Dines in; “Christmas Trifle” can be found in another volume of the Chesapeake Crimes anthology, Homicidal Holidays; and “A Christmas Rescue” in the collection Two Deadly Doves with two previous Meg Langslow novels.

Has the Meg Langslow books series ended?

Clearly no. the Meg Langslow series is still ongoing and there’s no end in sight for now. New books coming next year.

Is there an adaptation of the Meg Langslow books series?

Not all book series are destined to be adapted for television (or the movies).

About the author of the Meg Langslow series

Who is Donna Andrews?

Donna Andrews is an award-winning American mystery fiction writer who was born in Yorktown, Virginia–the city that is now the setting of her avian-themed Meg Langslow cozy mystery series. She now lives in Reston.

Andrews didn’t start with writing fiction. After majoring in English and Drama at the University of Virginia, she moved to the Washington, D.C. area and worked as a member of the communications staff of a large financial organization for two decades.

In 1997, Andrews submitted her first completed mystery manuscript to the Malice Domestic/St. Martin’s Press Best First Traditional Mystery contest and won. This launched her new career as a mystery writer.

Mostly known for her main series, the one at the heart of this article, Donna Andrews has won the Agatha, Anthony, and Barry Awards, and a lot more. Also, she is a member of the Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and Novelists, Inc.

What has Donna Andrews written beyond the Meg Langslow series?

Beyond the Meg Langslow series, Donna Andrews also writes The Turing Hopper series about a sentient artificial intelligence personality who turns sleuth to find out what happened to her creator.

She’s also editing the Chesapeake Crimes anthology series, each book collecting short stories from Chesapeake Bay area crime writers.