Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson Books in Order

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Mercy Thompson is a shapeshifter in a werewolf world, created by Patricia Briggs.

Mercyverse: Mercy Thompson’s World Reading Order

The Mercy Thompson World consists of the Mercy Thompson seriesand the Alpha & Omega series, as well as several short stories and graphic novels.

Mercy Thompson Books in Order (only the novels)

Moon Called (2006)
Blood Bound (2007)
Iron Kissed (2008)
Bone Crossed (2009)
Silver Borne (2010)
River Marked (2011)
Frost Burned (2013)
Night Broken (2014)
Fire Touched (2016)
Silence Fallen (2017)
Storm Cursed (2019)
Smoke Bitten (2020)
Soul Taken (2022)

Alpha & Omega Books in Order

Alpha & Omega (2014) (novella)
Cry Wolf (2008)
Hunting Ground (2009)
Fair Game (2012)
Dead Heat (2015)
Burn Bright (2018)
Wild Sign (2021)

The Mercyverse in Chronological Order (with short stories)

– Silver (2014) (novella)
– HomeComing (2009) (graphic novel)
– Gray (2014) (short story)
– Fairy Gifts (2014) (short story)
– Seeing Eye (2014) (short story)
Moon Called (2006) (Mercy Thompson #1)
Alpha & Omega (2014) (novella)
Cry Wolf (2008) (Alpha & Omega #1)
Hunting Ground (2009) (Alpha & Omega #2)
– Star of David (2014) (short story)
Blood Bound (2007) (Mercy Thompson #2)
Iron Kissed (2008) (Mercy Thompson #3)
Bone Crossed (2009) (Mercy Thompson #4)
– Roses in Winter (2014) (short story)
Silver Borne (2010) (Mercy Thompson #5)
– In Red with Pearls (2014) (short story)
River Marked (2011) (Mercy Thompson #6)
Fair Game (2012) (Alpha & Omega #3)
Frost Burned (2013) (Mercy Thompson #7)
– Unappreciated Gifts (2014) (short story)
– Redemption (2014) (short story)
Dead Heat (2015) (Alpha & Omega #4)
– Hopcross Jilly (2015) (graphic novel)
Night Broken (2014) (Mercy Thompson #8)
– Hollow (2014) (short story)
Fire Touched (2016) (Mercy Thompson #9)
Silence Fallen (2017) (Mercy Thompson #10)
Burn Bright (2018) (Alpha & Omega #5)
Storm Cursed (2019) (Mercy Thompson #11)
Smoke Bitten (2020) (Mercy Thompson #12)
– Asil and the Not-Date (2020) (short story) 
Wild Sign (2021) (Alpha & Omega #6)
– Dating Terrors (2022) (short story)
Soul Taken (2022) (Mercy Thompson #12)

More about the Mercyverse

The Story of Mercy Thompson

Mercedes is a Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. Her Native American heritage has gifted her with the ability to take the form of a coyote at will. She’s surrounded by far more powerful supernatural beings, including werewolves, vampires and an assortment of fae.

And what about the Alpha & Omega Series?

This series is set in the same world as the Mercy Thompson Series and follows Anna, an empathetic werewolf, and Charles Cornick, the enforcer of the North American werewolves.

Does the Mercyverse need to be read in order?

You can definitely enjoy reading the Mercy Thompson series or the Alpha & Omega Series independently, without reading the other series and all the short stories.

The two series are also interwoven, so if you really want to fully immerse yourself in the Mercyverse, it’s better to follow the chronological order.

How many books are there in the Mercy Thompson series?

At the time of writing, there are 13 full-length novels in the Mercy Thompson series.

Where can I find the Mercyverse’s short stories and novellas?

Most of the short stories set in the Mercyverse have been published in the anthology Shifting Shadows: Stories from the World of Mercy Thompson.

This anthology was published in 2014 and collects “Silver”, “Gray”, “Fairy Gifts”, “Seeing Eye”, “Alpha and Omega”, “The Star of David”, “Roses in Winter”, “In Red, with Pearls”, “Redemption”, “Hollow”.

The three other short stories form what is called the Asil-verse and were released in different anthologies:
– “Unappreciated Gifts” was published in A Fantastic Holiday Season (2014)
– “Asil and the Not-Date” was published in Fantastic Hope (2020)
– “Dating Terrors” was published in Heroic Hearts (2022)

Has the Mercyverse ended?

Not for now. The Mercy Thompson series and the Alpha & Omega series continue.

Is there an adaptation of the Mercy Thompson books series?

Maybe! Amazon has optioned the TV rights for the Mercy Thompson books.

About the author of the Mercyverse

Who is Patricia Briggs?

Patricia Briggs is an American writer of fantasy born in 1965, famous for the Mercy Thompson urban fantasy series.

She began to write in 1990, and published her first book, Masques, in 1993. It was a flop, and it almost put an end to her career. From her second book, she found a slow but steady success, and better sales gave her the confidence to write multi-book stories.

As the urban fantasy genre was growing, her editor asked her if she would be interested to write a book in that category, and she accepted. She wrote Moon Called, which made the USA Today bestseller list.

Success continued to grow from there, making Patricia Briggs a #1 New York Times best-selling author.

What has Patricia Briggs written beyond the Mercy Thompson series?

The Mercyverse is still growing, but Patricia Briggs wrote other fantasy books before: The Sianim series is a fantasy series, the stand-alone Hob’s Bargain, the Hurog Duology, and The Raven Duology.