Molly Murphy Books in Order, a cozy historical mystery series by Rhys Bowen

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The Molly Murphy mysteries written by Rhys Bowen are about an Irish immigrant woman in turn-of-the-century New York City who works as a private investigator. 

Reading the Molly Murphy Series in Order

The following reading order includes the Molly Murphy short stories in chronological order, not in publication order.

Molly Murphy Books in Chronological Order

The Amersham Rubies: A Molly Murphy Prequel Short Story (2011)
Murphy’s Law (2001)
Death of Riley (2002)
For the Love of Mike (2003)
In Like Flynn (2005)
Oh Danny Boy (2006)
In Dublin’s Fair City (2007)
Tell Me, Pretty Maiden (2008)
In a Gilded Cage (2009)
The Last Illusion (2010)
Bless the Bride (2011)
Hush Now, Don’t You Cry (2012)
The Face In The Mirror: A Molly Murphy Short Story (2013)
The Family Way (2013)
Through The Window: A Molly Murphy Short Story (2014)
City of Darkness and Light (2014)
The Edge of Dreams (2015)
Away in a Manger (2015)
Time of Fog and Fire (2016)
The Ghost of Christmas Past (2017)
Wild Irish Rose (by Rhys Bowen & Clare Broyles, 2022)
All That Is Hidden (by Rhys Bowen & Clare Broyles, 2023)

More about the Molly Murphy series

The Story of the Molly Murphy series

The series is about Molly Murphy, an Irish immigrant who has come to America to begin a new life in New York City where she became a private investigator (after being accused of a crime she didn’t commit!). She often works with police captain Daniel Sullivan, a relationship that quickly becomes more than a professional arrangement.

Here is the official presentation for Murphy’s Law, the first book in the series:

“Molly Murphy always knew she’d end up in trouble, just as her mother predicted. So, when she commits murder in self-defense, she flees her cherished Ireland, and her identity, for the anonymous shores of America. When she arrives in New York and sees the welcoming promise of freedom in the Statue of Liberty, Molly begins to breathe easier. But when a man is murdered on Ellis Island, a man Molly was seen arguing with, she becomes a prime suspect in the crime.

Using her Irish charm and sharp wit, Molly escapes Ellis Island and sets out to find the wily killer on her own. Pounding the notorious streets of Hell’s Kitchen and the Lower East Side, Molly make sit her desperate mission to clear her name before her deadly past comes back to haunt her new future.”

Does the Molly Murphy series need to be read in order?

The publication order and the chronological order for the Molly Murphy series are mostly the same, except for the short stories.

It’s better to read them in order to follow the changes in the lives of the characters, but it is not a requirement. You can just pick up a novel at random and read it. You’ll get a full story each time.

A box set of Molly Murphy’s first 15 books.

How many books are there in the Molly Murphy series?

As of the time of writing this article, the Molly Murphy series is composed of 19 full-length novels and three short stories (see next questions for more about that).

Where can I find Molly Murphy’s short stories and novellas?

There are three short stories featuring Molly Murphy: “Through The Window“, “The Face In The Mirror“, and “The Amersham Rubies“.

All of them are available on Amazon Kindle.

Has the Molly Murphy books series ended?

The Molly Murphy series is still ongoing. The next book, “All That Is Hidden,” will be published in 2023.

Is there an adaptation of the Molly Murphy books series?

Not all books are destined to become a TV show or a Movie. Molly Murphy stays on the pages for now.

About the author of the Molly Murphy series

Who is Rhys Bowen?

Rhys Bowen(the pseudonym used by Janet Quin-Harkin for her mystery novels for adults) is a prolific New York Times bestselling author. She was born in Bath, England, and educated at London University, but she now lives in America.

Her novels have been translated into twenty-two languages, including Chinese and Arabic, and won a lot of awards like the Agatha Award for best historical mystery and the Macavity and Bruce Alexander Memorial Awards.

She has written more than 40 novels, stand-alone as well as series–in fact, she is known for her historical mystery series.

What has Rhys Bowen written beyond the Molly Murphy series?

Rhys Bowen has written stand-alone novels like The Venice Sketchbook, The Victory Garden, Above the Bay of Angels, The Tuscan Child, and Where the Sky Begins.

She currently writes two historical mystery series. The first is the Molly Murphy series, of course, and the second is the Lady Georgie series. also known as “Her Royal Spyness“, this is a humorous historical series about the penniless cousin of King George V of England in 1932 who is acting as a spy for the queen.

Before that, Rhys Bowen wrote the Constable Evan Evans series.