Olivia Atwater’s Faerie Tales Series in Order

From Naomi Novik’s Temeraire to the Jane Austen’s Dragons series by Maria Grace, the Regency era inspires many contemporary writers. Olivia Atwater’s Regency Faerie Tales Series is among them.

Sometimes presented as “Bridgerton meets Howl’s Moving Castle“, the Regency Faerie Tales is a historical cozy fantasy series inspired by fairy tales and British Folklore. The first book focuses on Theodora Ettings, a young lady who has been cursed by a faerie. Since then, she had no sense of fear or embarrassment and this situation has make it quite difficult for her to find a husband…

In the disclosure of this missive, it is requisite to declare affiliations—links within. Should one, in inclination, make a purchase through these connections, a gratuity may find its path to my coffers.

Discovering The Faerie Tales Series by Olivia Atwater

Canadian Writer Olivia Atwater released her debut novel, Half a Soul, in 2020, as a self-published author. The book was the first in her Regency Faerie Tales trilogy which is now published by Orbit. She recently expanded her universe with a new book series set in the Victorian era…

The Regency Faerie Tales Series in Order

The Regency Faerie Tales series consists of three novels and two short stories. Right now, you can receive a free ebook copy of the second short story, The Latch Key, if your subscribe to the author newsletter, The Atwater Scandal Sheets. The Lord Sorcier is included in the back of Half a Soul.

The Lord Sorcier (2020, short story)
Half a Soul (2020)
The Latch Key (2022, short story)
Ten Thousand Stitches (2020)
Longshadow (2021)

Victorian Faerie Tales Series in Order

Stay a little longer in the world of Half a Soul with Atwater’s new series set in a magical version of Victorian England.

The Witchwood Knot (2023)

Does the Regency Faerie Tales series need to be read in order?

Each book in the Regency Faerie Tales series can be read as a stand-alone, as they all tell a complete story centered each time on a different young lady.

With that said, the third book reconnects with characters from the first one, and you will get more from it if you read it afterward (but you can still read it as a stand-alone if you want).

Both short stories are companion pieces to the trilogy. For this reason, it can be better to read Lord Sorcier after the first book, as it explores some elements mentioned in it.

Olivia Atwater about the origins of Half a Soul

Ideas pop up in the mind of a writer in different ways. Delemach had the idea for The House Witch when cooking and thinking about the medieval cooks who were performing this task consistently. Patricia C. Wrede credited the Oz Books as one of her inspirations for The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, while Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series owes a lot to the Aubrey/Maturin series.

For Olivia Atwater, the idea for Half a Soul came to her as “a single scene nearly fully-formed”, as she explained in an interview with Hidden Gems Books:

That scene is one early on, where the main character, Dora, is washing her dress in a fountain outdoors in the middle of a ball. I just had the idea that she was a Regency lady who felt and acted as though she were in a dream, and I knew it was going to be difficult for her because that sort of thing would not do well in an era of strict manners. Once I had that general concept, I built out the rest from there, mostly through copious amounts of research and all the things that research suggested to me. I will say that I meant the book to be even more silly and lighthearted than it is, but once I read a few things about the state of the lower classes during the Regency, I couldn’t just ignore those things and pretend that everything was one big faerie tale—or at least, it had to be a bit more Brothers Grimm and a bit less Disney.

She is also quite inspired by fairy tales, as her second novel Ten Thousand Stitches is a Cinderella retelling.

For more Regency fantasy like the Regency Faerie Tales series, you could be interested in Sorcerer Royal Series by Zen Cho