Gregg Hurwitz’s Orphan X Books in Order

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Orphan X is a series of thrillers written by Gregg Hurwitz about a man with a special set of skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. 

Reading the Orphan X Series in Order

The Orphan X series is composed of novels and short stories.

Orphan X Books in Publication Order

Orphan X (2016)
Buy a Bullet (short story, 2016)
The Nowhere Man (2017)
Hellbent (2017)
The Intern (short story, 2018)
Out of the Dark (2019)
Into the Fire (2020)
The List (short story, 2020)
Prodigal Son (2021)
Dark Horse (2022)
The Last Orphan (2023)
Lone Wolf (2024)

“The Nowhere Man,” “Out of the Dark,” and “Orphan X”

The Story of Orphan X

Here is the official presentation for the novel “Orphan X,” the first in the series:

Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He’s also a man with a dangerous past.

Chosen as a child, he was raised and trained as an Orphan, an off-the-books black box program designed to create the perfect deniable intelligence asset: An assassin.

Evan was Orphan X—until he broke with the program and used everything he learned to disappear. But now someone is on his tail.

Someone with similar skills and training who will exploit Evan’s secret new identity as the Nowhere Man to eliminate him.

More about the Orphan X series

Does the Orphan X series need to be read in order?

Like with a lot of series in that genre, the books in the Orphan X series can be read separately from one another.

Though, it is preferable to read the novels in order as there is a real evolution of the main protagonist and the world surrounding him from one adventure to the next.

How many books are there in the Orphan X series?

As of 2023, the Orphan X series is composed of 8 novels and three short stories.

Where can I find Orphan X’s short stories?

The three short stories taking place in the Orphan X universe are Buy a Bullet, The Intern, and The List. They all have been published by Minotaur Books and can be found on Amazon Kindle, but also on audiobooks.

Has the Orphan X books series ended?

The Orphan X series is still ongoing as the next book is announced to be published next year.

Is there an adaptation of the Orphan X books series?

In 2015, it was announced that Orphan X was picked up by Warner Bros. with Bradley Cooper to direct the movie adaptation, then it was to be made into a TV series in 2018. At the time of this writing, there still is no adaptation of Orphan X as a movie or TV show.

About the author of the Orphan X series

Who is Gregg Hurwitz?

Gregg Hurwitz is an American novelist of course, but also a movie and TV screenwriter, and comic book writer.

He wrote his first novel when he was getting a bachelor of arts degree from Harvard University and a master’s from Trinity College, in 1995-1996.

What has he written beyond the Orphan X series?

As a novelist, beyond Orphan X, Gregg Hurwitz is the author of the Tim Rackley series, and the Rains Brothers series, but also of standalone books.

As a comic book writer, he worked for AWA (Knighted), Marvel (Wolverine, Punisher), and DC (Batman, Penguin).

As a screenwriter, he worked on the TV Shows “V” and Queen of the South, and on the movies The Book of Henry and Sweet Girl.