Oxford Time Travel Series by Connie Willis

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The Oxford Time Travel Series is a science fiction series written by Connie Willis.

Reading The Oxford Time Travel Book Series in Order

The Oxford Time Travel series encompasses one short story and four books (each has won the Hugo Award).

Fire Watch (short story, 1982)
Doomsday Book (1992)
To Say Nothing of the Dog (1998)
Blackout (2010)
All Clear (2010)

More about The Oxford Time Travel Series

The Story of The Oxford Time Travel Series

The series is set in the 2050s and 2060s, at a time in which time travel has been invented. Commercial companies tried to make a buck, but it is impossible to bring objects back from the past. They lost interest, and time travel became the domain of historians.

Professor Dunworthy is in charge of the time travel program and acts as an instructor and guide for his fellow traveling historians as they go exploring the past.

Each book in the series explores a different time period and is different in style, from a comedy of manners in To Say of Nothing of the Dog to depressive WWII in Blackout/All Clear.

Does The Oxford Time Travel Series need to be read in order?

You don’t have to read the Oxford Time Travel series in order, as each story is a stand-alone (keep in mind that Blackout and All Clear are a two-volume novel, so must be read in that order).

Some events are alluded to, and there are a few recurring characters, but it does not affect the story.

How many books are there in the series?

The Oxford Time Travel series consists of 4 novels and 1 novelette, released between 1982 and 2010.

Where can I find the short story, Fire Watch?

The story Fire Watch was first published in Isaac Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine in February 1982. She was later included in the short story collections Fire Watch (1983) and The Best of Connie Willis: Award-Winning Stories (2013).

Has the Oxford Time Travel book series ended?

For the moment, you can consider that the series has ended. It’s been more than 10 years since Connie Willis wrote a story involving time travelers from Oxford. But who knows what the future holds, really?

Is there an adaptation of the Oxford Time Travel book series?

Not all book series are destined to be adapted as movies, TV Shows, radio dramas, or others. As of today, at least, there is no adaptation of The Oxford Time Travel series.

About the author of the series

Who is Connie Willis?

Born December 31, 1945, Connie Willis is a celebrated American science fiction and fantasy writer. She has won eleven Hugo Awards, Seven Nebula Awards and nine Locus Awards.

A graduate of Colorado State College, she first worked as a teacher while publishing her first stories. After receiving a National Endowment for the Arts in 1982, she left her job to become a full-time writer.

Connie Willis can write very dark stories as well as very funny ones. She is known for her ‘screwball comedy’ style, and her exploration of social sciences. She uses technology to ask all kind of questions about the way we live, how it impact us, and way more.

What has she written beyond the Oxford Time Travel series?

Connie Willis first found success with her short stories, and you can find some of her best works in that format in The Best of Connie Willis: Award-Winning Stories (2013).

If you love classic cinema (especially Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers), don’t miss out on Remake (1994). Pop culture, chaos theory and matters of the heart collide in Bellwether (1996), and near-death experiences are at the center of Passage (2001).

What to read after The Oxford Time Travel series?

For those who want more time-travel stories, we invite you to check out:

The Chronicles of St Mary’s Series by Jodi Taylor, and its spin-off, The Time Police series
11/22/63 by Stephen King
Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi