Septimus Heap Books in Order: The Complete Reading Guide to Angie Sage’s series

Being the seventh son of a seven son is something not ordinary in fantasy. It comes with magical powers. Ask Septimus Heap, the hero of Angie Sage’s series.

Reading the Septimus Heap Series in Order

The Septimus Heap book series consists, without too much surprise, of seven main books, and one short story. A spin-off series, The TodHunter Moon series, followed it. A guidebook and a coloring book have also been released.

The Septimus Books in Publication Order

Magyk (2005)
The Darke Toad (2013, short story)
Flyte (2006)
Physik (2007)
Queste (2008)
Syren (2009)
Darke (2011)
Fyre (2013)

The seven books in the Septimus Heat book series.

The Septimus Heat Spin-off: The TodHunter Moon Book series

PathFinder (2014)
SandRider (2015)
StarChaser (2016)

Companion books

The Magykal Papers (2009), a guidebook with information about the series up to the fifth novel.
A Colouring Book of Hours: Castle (2015)

The TodHunter Moon trilogy, sequel to The Septimus Heap series

More about the Septimus Heap series

The Story of Septimus Heap

The Septimus Heap series is described as an adventure filled with quirky characters and Magykal charms, potions, and spells following a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

The story begins when Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears the night he is born, pronounced dead by the midwife. That same night, the baby’s father, Silas Heap, comes across an abandoned child in the snow—a newborn girl with violet eyes. Who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to the Heaps’ beloved son Septimus?

And you can discover the trailer for the series posted by Bloomsbury:

And what about the TodHunter Moon spin-off series?

Taking place seven years after the events of the original Septimus Heap series, the TodHunter Moon series tells the story of Alice TodHunter Moon, a young PathFinder who leaves her seaside village in search of her friend Ferdie. Rumor has it that Ferdie has been taken by mysterious creatures called Garmin under orders from the malevolent Lady.

Does the Septimus Heap series need to be read in order?

Each book is written to stand on its own, though the series follows Septimus as his develop his skills and grew. It is then better to read the books in order.

How many books are there in the Septimus Heap series?

There are Seven novels in the Septimus Heap series and one short story.

Has the Septimus Heap book series ended?

Yes, the Septimus Heap book series concluded in 2013 with the book called Fyre. The Septimus Head World expanded not long after with the TodHunter Moon trilogy, also finished.

Is there an adaptation of the Septimus Heap books series?

Septimus Heap hasn’t found his way onto the screen yet! It’s not for lack of trying, as Warner Bros. bought the rights to the first book in 2007 and a screenplay has been written.

In the end, Warner Bros. decided not to proceed and now, our Wizard apprentice is searching for a new home to see his adventures adapted as a TV Series. Maybe one day, who knows?

About the author of the Septimus Heap series

Who is Angie Sage?

Angie Sage is a British author of children’s literature. She grew up in the Thames Valley and Kent, reading authors like E. Nesbitt and Elizabeth Goudge. She studied graphic design and illustration, using these skills to illustrate books.

She lives in Somerset, in an old house, and is inspired by the west of England, which she described as a magical place.

Her first novel published was Magyk, the first in the Septimus Heap series, in 2005.

What has Angie Sage written beyond the Septimus Heap series?

Angie Sage is also the author of the Araminta Spook Series (also called Araminta Spookie in the USA). This is the story of a funny and brave nine-year-old, obsessed with ghosts, werewolves, and everything strange. She lives in a wonderful old haunted house with her Aunt Tabby and Uncle Drac since her parents disappeared, and becomes best friend with Wanda Wizzard.