Sharpe Books in Order: Read all the adventures of Bernard Cornwell’s hero

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Sharpe is a historical fiction series written by Bernard Cornwell set around the beginning of the 19th century. It follows the military adventures of Richard Sharpe, a fictional British soldier, during the Napoleonic Wars.

Reading Sharpe Series in Order

We are listing here two reading orders for the Sharpe series: the chronological order and the publication order.

Do I need to read the Sharpe series in order?

There are multiple ways to read the Sharpe series. Each book works as a standalone but takes place in the overarching story about Sharpe’s life in the military.

Bernard Cornwell didn’t write the story in chronological order though. As a result, if you want to just pick a book at random, you can, but if you want to read the full story, you can follow the original publication order or the chronological order.

Sharpe Four Book Set: Sharpes Tiger, Sharpes Triumph, Sharpes Fortress, Sharpes Trafalgar

Sharpe Books in Chronological Order

1. Sharpe’s Tiger, set during the Siege of Seringapatam in 1799
2. Sharpe’s Triumph, set during the Battle of Assaye in September 1803
3. Sharpe’s Fortress, set during the Siege of Gawilghur in December 1803
4. Sharpe’s Trafalgar, set during the Battle of Trafalgar in October 1805
5. Sharpe’s Prey, set during the Siege of Copenhagen in 1807
6. Sharpe’s Rifles, set during the French Invasion of Galicia in January 1809
7. Sharpe’s Havoc, set during the Campaign in Northern Portugal in Spring 1809
8. Sharpe’s Eagle, set during the Talavera Campaign in July 1809
9. Sharpe’s Gold, set during the Destruction of Almeida in August 1810
10. Sharpe’s Escape, set during the Battle of Bussaco in September 1810
11. Sharpe’s Fury, set during the Battle of Barrosa March 1811 in Winter 1811
12. Sharpe’s Battle, set during the Battle of Fuentes de Oñoro in May 1811
13. Sharpe’s Company, set during the Siege of Badajoz in January to April 1812
14. Sharpe’s Sword, set during the Salamanca Campaign in June and July 1812
14.5. Sharpe’s Skirmish, set during the Defence of the Tormes in August 1812 (short story)
15. Sharpe’s Command, takes place in Spain in 1812
16. Sharpe’s Enemy, set during the Defence of Portugal in Christmas 1812
17. Sharpe’s Honour, set during the Vitoria Campaign in February-June 1813
18. Sharpe’s Regiment, set during the Invasion of France in June-November 1813
18.5. Sharpe’s Christmas, takes place at the Franco-Spanish border in December 1813 (short story)
19. Sharpe’s Siege, set during the Winter Campaign in 1814
20. Sharpe’s Revenge, set during the Peace of 1814
21. Sharpe’s Waterloo, set during the Waterloo Campaign in June 1815
22. Sharpe’s Assassin, set during the Occupation of Paris in 1815
22.5. Sharpe’s Ransom, takes place in Normandy in December 1816 (short story)
23. Sharpe’s Devil, set in 1820–21

Sharpe’s Tiger and Sharpe’s Triumph published by Folio Society

Sharpe Books in Publication Order

1. Sharpe’s Eagle (1981)
2. Sharpe’s Gold (1981)
3. Sharpe’s Company (1982)
4. Sharpe’s Sword (1983)
5. Sharpe’s Enemy (1984)
6. Sharpe’s Honour (1985)
7. Sharpe’s Regiment (1986)
8. Sharpe’s Siege (1987)
9. Sharpe’s Rifles (1988)
10. Sharpe’s Revenge (1989)
11. Sharpe’s Waterloo (1990)
12. Sharpe’s Devil (1992)
12.5 Sharpe’s Christmas (Short Story,1994)
12.6. Sharpe’s Ransom (Short Story,1994)
13. Sharpe’s Battle (1995)
14. Sharpe’s Tiger (1997)
15. Sharpe’s Triumph (1998)
16. Sharpe’s Fortress (1999)
16.5. Sharpe’s Skirmish (Short Story, 1999)
17. Sharpe’s Trafalgar (2000)
18. Sharpe’s Prey (2001)
19. Sharpe’s Havoc (2003)
20. Sharpe’s Escape (2004)
21. Sharpe’s Fury (2007)
22. Sharpe’s Assassin (2021)
23. Sharpe’s Command (2023)

The Story of the Sharpe Series

Richard Sharpe, bold, professional, and ruthless, goes to war. He is the man you always want on your side. Born in poverty, he joined the army to escape jail and climbed the ranks by sheer brutal courage. He knows no other family than the regiment of the 95th Rifles whose green jacket he proudly wears.

Once a private, now he leads his men into action in the bloodiest battle of the war. The danger is as great from his enemies on his own side as from those across the battlefield. But through treachery and gunsmoke, through swordfight and bloody warfare, Sharpe saves his own life and the honor of the regiment.

How many books are there in the Sharpe series?

As of 2022, there are 23 novels in the Sharpe series, the first one was published in 1881. The writer also published a few short stories.

The Sharpe series is still ongoing.

More about Bernard Cornwell, the author of Sharpe

The Sharpe Series is written by the British author Bernard Cornwell, also known for The Last Kingdom Series.

Born in 1944, Cornwell was a teacher before joining BBC Television. He worked there for a decade, beginning as a researcher on the Nationwide program and ending as Head of Current Affairs Television for the BBC in Northern Ireland.

He became a writer as a way to work and earn a living after facing complications while emigrating to the United States to live with his wife Judy.

Sean Bean is Richard Sharpe in the ITV adaptation of the series.

Sharpe, the classic TV Series

The Sharpe series was adapted as a British television drama series by ITV in the UK. Sean Bean starred as Richard Sharpe and Irish actor Daragh O’Malley played his second-in-command Patrick Harper.

The first book to be adapted was Sharpe’s Rifles in 1993. Since then, fifteen more episodes have been produced. The first fourteen were broadcast between 1993 and 1997, but the show went on a long hiatus after that and made a comeback in 2006 and 2008 for the last two episodes.