Sigma Force Books in Order, a techno-thriller series by James Rollins

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

A techno-thriller series by James Rollins, Sigma Force follows the exploits of a covert special forces agency whose members confront humankind’s greatest threat from one side of the world to the other.

Reading Sigma Force Series in Order

The chronological order of the Sigma Force series is the same as the publication order. Though, you can see the first book more as a prequel as most of the main characters are introduced in the second novel.

Sigma Force Books in Publication Order

Sandstorm (2004)
Map of Bones (2005)
Black Order (2006)
– “Kowalski’s in Love” (short story, 2006)
The Judas Strain (2007)
The Last Oracle (2008)
The Doomsday Key (2009)
– “The Skeleton Key” (short story, 2011)
The Devil Colony (2011)
– “Tracker” (short story, 2012)
Bloodline (2012)
The Eye of God (2013)
– “The Devil’s Bones: Cotton Malone vs. Grey Pierce” (a short story written with Steve Berry, 2014)
The 6th Extinction (2014)
– “The Midnight Watch” (short story, 2015)
The Bone Labyrinth (2015)
– “Crash and Burn” (short story, 2016)
The Seventh Plague (2016)
– “Ghost Ship” (short story, 2017)
The Demon Crown (2017)
Crucible (2019)
The Last Odyssey (2020)
Kingdom of Bones (2022)
Tides of Fire (2023)

The Story of Sigma Force

SIGMA Force is an elite covert arm of the U.S. Defense Department. This team is working to protect the United States from technological and historical discoveries that could, in the wrong hands (including the Guild), bring chaos, death, or more…

Here is the official presentation of the first book in the series, Sandstorm:

“A freak explosion in the British Museum in London ignites a perilous race for an earth-shaking power source buried deep beneath the sands of history. Painter Crowe is an agent for Sigma Force, a covert arm of the Defense Department tasked with keeping dangerous scientific discoveries out of enemy hands.

When an ancient artifact points the way toward the legendary ‘Atlantis of the Sands,’ Painter must travel across the world in search of the lost city—and a destructive power beyond imagining.

But Painter has competition. A band of ruthless mercenaries, led by a former friend and ally, are also intent on claiming the prize, and they will destroy anyone who gets in their way. Ancient history collides with cutting-edge science–with the safety of the world at stake!”

In the second book, Map of Bones, we are introduced to Commander Gray Pierce, Monk Kokkalis, and Kat Bryant who become the main protagonists in the series.

More about Sigma Force series

Does the Sigma Force series need to be read in order?

Not really. Sigma Force is the kind of series that doesn’t need to be read in full. You can just take a book at random and enjoy a complete story.

That said, there are some character developments that you only can appreciate by reading the novels (and short stories) in the order of release.

How many books are there in the Sigma Force series?

In total, there are 17 novels in the Sigma Force–at the time of writing this article.

There are also multiple short stories (six) and a collaboration with Steve Berry, author of the Cotton Malone series.

Where can I find Sigma Force’s short stories and novellas?

The short stories and novellas that are part of the Sigma Force series are all available in digital format on Amazon Kindle—see the publication order at the beginning of the article.

Has the Sigma Force books series ended?

No, new books in the Sigma Force books series are being written.

Is there an adaptation of the Sigma Force books series?

For now, there is no adaptation of the Sigma Force series.

About the author of the Sigma Force series

Who is James Rollins?

James Rollins is the pen name used by James Paul Czajkowski, an American veterinarian and writer. Today, he is a full-time author, he gave up his veterinary career, after 20 years of practicing—including 10 years running his own practice in Sacramento, California.

Now, he is writing action-adventure/thriller, mystery, and techno-thriller novels, but also fantasy books under another pen name, James Clemens.

What has he written beyond the Sigma Force series?

Sigma Force is the longest series written by James Rollins, but he also writes standalone novels, and fantasy series such as The Banned and the Banished series, the MoonFall Saga, and the Godslayer series.

He also collaborated with the mystery writer Rebecca Cantrell to write several stories in the Order of the Sanguines series, and with the thriller writer Grant Blackwood to write in the Tucker Wayne series.