Slough House/Slow Horses Books in Order, the spy series by Mick Herron

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Slough House is a spy series following disgraced spies navigating the complicated espionage world.

Reading the Slough House Series in Order

The publication order of the Slough House novels is the same as the chronological order.

Reconstruction (2008)
Slow Horses (2010)
Dead Lions (2013)
The List (2015, novella)
Nobody Walks (2015)
Real Tigers (2016)
Spook Street (2017)
London Rules (2018)
The Drop (US title: The Marylebone Drop) (2018, novella)
Joe Country (2019)
The Last Dead Letter (2019, short story)
The Catch (2020, novella)
Slough House (2021)
Bad Actors (2022)

The Story of Slough House

London, England: Slough House is where the washed-up MI5 spies go to while away what’s left of their failed careers. The “slow horses,” as they’re called, have all disgraced themselves in some way to get relegated here.

Maybe they messed up an op badly and can’t be trusted anymore. Maybe they got in the way of an ambitious colleague and had the rug yanked out from under them. Maybe they just got too dependent on the bottle—not unusual in this line of work. One thing they all have in common, though, is they all want to be back in the action. And most of them would do anything to get there─even if it means having to collaborate with one another.

This team of MI5 agents is united by one common bond: they’ve screwed up royally and will do anything to redeem themselves.

More about the Slough House series

Does the Slough House series need to be read in order?

It is recommended to read the Slough House series in order to follow the development of the characters and their relationship. Also, you’ll find references to past events and other information on the characters the more you progress in the series.

That said, if you pick up a Slough House book, the author will give you all the information you need to understand and enjoy the story!

How many books are there in the Slough House series?

The Slough House series consists of, officially, eight novels, with four novellas/short stories.

Our reading order for Slough House also includes the stand-alones Reconstruction and Nobody Walks, both considered stand-alone books but set in the same universe. The former can be read as a prequel, and the latter uses some of the same characters.

The Slough House series is still ongoing.

Where can I find the Slough House’s short stories and novellas?

All the Slough House novellas have been released in hardcover, paperback and Kindle.

The short story The Last Dead Letter was first released in a special edition of the book Joe Country for Waterstones and by itself on Kindle. It is now available on the short story collection Dolphin Junction, published in 2021.

Is there an adaptation of the Slough House books series?

In 2022, the streaming service Apple TV+ launched the first season of Slow Horses, which is an adaptation of the Slough House series. The first season was based on the novel of the same name.

It features an ensemble cast led by Gary Oldman as Jackson Lamb, the head of Slough House, Jack Lowden as up-and-coming MI5 agent River Cartwright, and Kristin Scott Thomas as Diana Taverner, the head of operations codenamed Second Desk.

About the author of the Slough House series

Who is Mick Herron?

Micky Herron is a British mystery and thriller novelist. Born in Newcastle upon Tyne, he began to write as a teenager and went to study English literature at Balliol College, Oxford. He then became a sub editor before being a full time writer.

He first published several short stories in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, followed by his first mystery novel, Down Cemetery Road, in 2003.

Mick Herron found inspiration and develops his Slough House series while he was commuting to London for his job. The first novel in the series was published in 2010, but didn’t sell well in the UK. It changed a few years later when John Murray picked up the rights to the series in 2015. Now, Slough House is one of the most popular spy series published today.

What has Mick Herron written beyond the Slough House series?

Before writing the Slough House series with Jackson Lamb, Mick Herron wrote The Oxford Investigations Series starring private investigator Zoë Boehm, which consists of four books and four short stories. The first story in the series is called Down Cemetery Road.