Jeffrey Archer’s The Clifton Chronicles Books in Order

The Clifton Chronicles is an epic saga written by Jeffrey Archer that charted the lives, loves and adventures of the Clifton and Barrington families throughout the 20th century.

Reading The Clifton Chronicles in Order

The Clifton Chronicles were published in chronological order.

Only Time Will Tell (2011)
The Sins of the Father (2012)
Best Kept Secret (2013)
Be Careful What You Wish For (2014)
Mightier Than the Sword (2015)
Cometh the Hour (2016)
This Was a Man (2016)

The Complete Clifton Chronicles

More about Jeffrey Archer’s Clifton Chronicles

The Story of The Clifton Chronicles

The Clifton Chronicles series tells the ambitious story of one family across generations, from one continent to another, from failures to victories.

The first book is introduced as the epic tale of Harry Clifton’s life that began in 1920:

“A dock worker in Bristol, Harry never knew his father, but he learns about life on the docks from his uncle, who expects Harry to join him at the shipyard once he’s left school. But then an unexpected gift wins him a scholarship to an exclusive boys’ school, and his life will never be the same again.

Over the course of twenty years, as the Second World War and the fight against Hitler draws nearer, Harry will learn the awful truth about his father’s death and of his own connections to a powerful shipping family, the Barringtons. And in doing so, he will change his destiny forever..”

Jeffrey Archer’s Clifton Chronicles is set around a cast of colorful characters that take us from one war to the next, from Europe to America (to Europe again), to reveal a family story throughout a century. An epic tale of tragedy and hope.

Does The Clifton Chronicles series need to be read in order?

The Clifton Chronicles is an episodic saga. Each novel covers a period of time in the life of Harry Clifton from his birth in 1920, to his funeral in 1993.

With each new book, the story goes further ahead in time. Yes, it is necessary to read the series in order.

How many books are there in The Clifton Chronicles series?

The Clifton Chronicles is a saga composed of seven novels published from 2011 to 2016.

Has The Clifton Chronicles books series ended?

Yes, the epic and poignant conclusion was delivered in This Was a Man, the seventh and final novel in Jeffrey Archer’s Clifton Chronicles.

Is there an adaptation of The Clifton Chronicles books series?

Some books written by Jeffrey Archer have been adapted for television or radio, but it is not the case for The Clifton Chronicles, yet.

The Complete Clifton Chronicles, paperback edition

About the author of The Clifton Chronicles

Who is Jeffrey Archer?

Jeffrey Archer is a former British politician. He was a Member of Parliament (1969–1974) and the deputy chairman of the Conservative Party (1985–86) whose career was punctuated by scandals, financial and moral. He even was imprisoned (2001–2003) for perjury and perverting the course of justice—and this put an end to his active political career.

Archer’s writing career started out of necessity in 1976 as he published his first book, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less, in order to avoid bankruptcy. It worked. After that, he regularly published best-selling books like Kane and Abel (1979) and First Among Equals (1984). He also wrote short stories and stage plays.

What has Jeffrey Archer written beyond The Clifton Chronicles?

Jeffrey Archer published the first book in the Clifton Chronicles series in 2011. At that point, his writing career was already well advanced. He had published the Kane and Abel series between 1979 and 1986, and a lot of standalone novels.

In 2019, he launched the William Warwick series telling the story of the life of William Warwick—a family man and a detective who must battle against a powerful criminal nemesis.