The Demonata Books in Order

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The Demonata is a young adult horror series written by Darren Shan that is told from the perspective of three different protagonists/narrators. The story is set in a world where Demons are reel and is known for its graphic violence, despite being aimed at children.

Reading The Demonata Series in Order

The Demonata Books in Publication Order

Lord Loss – narrated by Grubbs (2005)
Demon Thief – narrated by Kernel (2006)
Slawter – narrated by Grubbs (2006)
Bec – narrated by Bec (2007)
Blood Beast – narrated by Grubbs (2007)
Demon Apocalypse – narrated by Grubbs (2008)
Death’s Shadow – narrated by Bec (2008)
Wolf Island – narrated by Grubbs (2009)
Dark Calling – narrated by Kernel (2009)
Hell’s Heroes – narrated by Grubbs (2010)

The Demonata Books in Chronological Order

Bec (Set between 351 AD and 400 AD)
Demon Thief (Set during the mid-1970s)
Lord Loss (Set at the beginning of the 21st century)
Slawter (Set fourteen months after the conclusion of Lord Loss)
Blood Beast (Set a year after the conclusion of Slawter)
Demon Apocalypse (Set directly after the conclusion of Blood Beast)
Death’s Shadow (Set six months after Demon Apocalypse)
Wolf Island (Set at the same time as Dark Calling)
Dark Calling (Set at the same time as Wolf Island)
Hell’s Heroes (Set directly after the conclusion of Dark Calling)

The Story of The Demonata

Here is the official presentation of the story of the first book of the series, Lord Loss (the third in chronological order):

“Grubbs Grady is an average kid. A bit bigger and slyer than a lot of boys his age (he loves to play evil, ingenious tricks on his sister), but nothing special. He leads an ordinary life, and expects it will always be that way. But when his parents and sister behave strangely … and Grubbs decides to stick his nose in … his entire world is thrown into chaos. He discovers that demons are real, and that terrible things can happen right in front of your eyes.

As Grubbs slowly and painfully tries to deal with his new situation, help appears in the form of a friendly, eccentric relative. Grubbs moves to the countryside to recover and starts putting his life back together. But there are secrets to be uncovered and hard truths to learn, and Grubbs is about to find out that as crazy and deadly as the world now seems, life is about to get a whole lot worse!!!”

More about The Demonata series

Does The Demonata series need to be read in order?

The Demonata series follows three narrators, and they all start their journeys in three different time periods. Those stories overlap at different points in time.

The recommended way to go would be to follow the publication order for the first read as it was the way Darren Shan developed his story. For a re-read, now that you know the story, the chronological order is an option you can freely explore.

How many books are there in the Demonata series?

The Demonata is a series that is composed of ten novels–there are no novellas or short stories.

Has the Demonata books series ended?

The Demonata was published from 2005 to 2010 (in the US, it ended in 2009 in the UK). The series has ended.

Is there an adaptation of The Demonata books series?

Despite some rumors online, there are no Demonata series, no three seasons Netflix show, or planned movie adaptation.

About the author of The Demonata series

Who is Darren Shan?

Darren Shan is the pseudonym used by the Irish author Darren O’Shaughnessy. Being a writer was his dream, as he bought his first typewriter when he was 14 and started working on short stories, comic book scripts, and novels he never finished.

Three years later, he finished his first full novel. He never stopped after that, one book a year at least, back then. During that time, he went to school before he started working for a cable television company for a couple of years. He became a full-time writer at the age of 23.

What has Darren Shan written beyond The Demonata series?

Before publishing the Demonata Series, Shan gained notoriety with “The Saga of Darren Shan,” also known as the Cirque Du Freak series–a young adult book series about the struggle of Darren Shan, a boy who has become involved in the world of vampires.

He also wrote The Saga of Larten Crepsley, the Zom-B series, The City Trilogy, the Darren Dash series, and the Archibald Lox series, but also standalone novels.