The Lunar Chronicles Books in Order

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Written by Marissa Meyer, The Lunar Chronicles is a young-adult series that offers a science-fiction twist on classic fairy tales.

Reading The Lunar Chronicles Books in Order

The Lunar Chronicles comprises four main books (Cinder, Scarlet, Cress & Winter), one novella (Fairest), one short story collection (Stars Above), and two graphic novels.

The Lunar Chronicles Suggested Reading Order

In 2015, Marissa Meyer recommended in her blog an order to read her books. Since then, she has written more stories in The Lunar Chronicles. The following suggested order is inspired by her recommended order, updated to include the stories published since then.

Cinder (2012) (Book #1)
– “Glitches” (2012) (Short Story)
– “The Mechanic” (2016) (Short Story)
Scarlet (2013) (Book #2)
– “The Keeper” (2016) (Short Story)
– “The Queen’s Army” (2012) (Short Story)
– “The Little Android” (2014) (Short Story)*
Cress (2014) (Book #3)
– “Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky” (2014) (Short Story)
– “After Sunshine Passes By” (2016) (Short Story)
Fairest (2015) (Book #0.5)
– “The Princess and the Guard” (2016) (Short Story)
Winter (2015) (Book #4)
Wires and Nerve Volume 1 (2017) (Graphic novel)
Wires and Nerve Volume 2: Gone Rogue (2018) (Graphic novel)
– “Something Old, Something New” (2016) (Short Story)
– “COVID-128” (2020) (Short Story)
– “Cinder’s Adventure: Get Me to the Wedding” (2022) (Short Story)

*As this short story is not directly related to the events in the books, it doesn’t really matter when you read it.

The Lunar Chronicles in Chronological Order

This chronological order, also based on the suggestion made by Marissa Meyer, is for those already familiar with the story and who want to spice things up by trying another order.

Fairest (Book #0.5) – The ending of Fairest takes place about 12 years prior to the start of Cinder.
– “The Queen’s Army”
– “After Sunshine Passes By”
– “The Keeper”
– “Glitches”
– “The Princess and the Guard”
– “Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky” – It takes place seven years before Cinder.
– “The Little Android”
Cinder (Book #1)
– “The Mechanic” – A retelling of the first meeting of Linh Cinder & Prince.
Scarlet (Book #2)
Cress (Book #3)
Winter (Book #4)
Wires and Nerve Vol. 1 & Vol. 2 – It takes place between Winter and Something Old, Something New.
– “Something Old, Something New” – Set two years after Winter.
– “COVID-128”
– “Cinder’s Adventure: Get Me to the Wedding

More about The Lunar Chronicles series

The Story of The Lunar Chronicles

The books revisit Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White in a futuristic world where various species and creatures live, and tensions are rising between Earth and its former colony Luna.

The story begins in the raucous streets of New Beijing, crowded by humans and androids. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Does The Lunar Chronicles need to be read in order?

It is not recommended to read the series in order the first time, as coming events would be spoiled and the story will not have the same impact. We advise you to follow the publication order for your first reading.

How many books are there in the The Lunar Chronicles series?

The Lunar Chronicles series comprises of four novels, a novella, a graphic novel duology and several short stories.

Where can I find the Lunar Chronicles’s short stories and novellas?

Most Lunar Chronicles short stories can be found in Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection. The book collects “The Keeper,” “Glitches,” “The Queen’s Army,” “Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky,” “After Sunshine Passes By,” “The Princess and the Guard,” “The Little Android,” “The Mechanic,” and “Something Old, Something New.”

“COVID-128” was released online, on, in 2020. Published in 2022, “Cinder’s Adventure: Get Me to the Wedding” is only available as an e-book for the moment.

Is there an adaptation of The Lunar Chronicles book series?

The film rights for The Lunar Chronicles have been acquired by Locksmith Animation in January 2022. There is no more news about it since then.

About the author of The Lunar Chronicles series

Who is Marissa Meyer?

Marissa Meyer is an American author of young-adult fiction. She was born on February 19, 1984, in Tacoma, Washington, and attended Pacific Lutheran University where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in Creative Writing and Children’s Literature. She would also obtain a Master’s degree in publishing from Pace University and worked for a time as an editor before becoming a freelance typesetter and proofreader.

Marissa Meyer began to write in her teenage years after her best friend introduced her to the world of anime and fan fiction. She wrote Sailor Moon fan fiction under the pen name Alicia Blade and also published under that pen name the novelette The Phantom of Linkshire Manor in 2007.

Soon enough, Marissa Meyer was participating in the National Novel Writing Month and was inspired to create The Lunar Chronicles series that reimagine classic fairy tales in a futuristic environment. She found a publisher and became a full-time writer.

Though The Lunar Chronicles series is over, Marissa Meyer continues to revisit fairy tale stories with her other books, and explore other sub-genre like the superheroes with The Renegades trilogy.

Marissa Meyer lives near Tacoma with her husband and their two adopted twin daughters.

What has she written beyond the Lunar Chronicles series?

For those who would like more stories inspired by fairy tales, Marissa Meyer also wrote The Gilded duology, based on the story of Rumpelstiltskin.

She has also released Heartless, a stand alone book inspired by Alice in Wonderland, as well as The Renegades Trilogy, a superhero story.