The Selection Reading Order, the dystopian Romance by Kiera Cass

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

The Selection is a Young Adult Dystopian romance novel by writer Kiera Cass described as being in the vein of the Hunger Games. It takes place in a futuristic world where society is divided into castes and tells the story of a young woman who enters a competition to win the prince’s heart.

Reading The Selection Series in Order

0.1. The Queen (novella)
0.2. The Prince (novella)
1. The Selection (2012)
2. The Elite (2013)
2.1. The Guard (novella)
3. The One (2014)
3.1. The Epilogue (short story)
3.2. The Favorite (novella)
4. The Heir (2015)
5. The Crown (2016)

The Story of The Selection

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of the gorgeous prince of Illéa, Maxon Schreave.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, her next-door neighbor who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. Summary based on the one by HarperTeen.

The first three books formed a trilogy telling the main story from the point of view of America Singer. The Heir and The Crown are two sequels telling another story, this time from the point of view of Princess Eadlyn, the firstborn daughter of Prince Maxon.

The Selection Series is available in one Box Set (on Amazon).

More about The Selection series

Where can I find The Selection’s short stories and novellas?

“The Prince,” “The Guard,” “The Queen,” “The Favorite, new scenes from “The Selection,” “The Elite,” and “The One,” introductions to each novella from Kiera Cass, a map of Illéa and other illustrations can now be found in one companion book to the Selection series title “Happily Ever After.”

Also, a bonus epilogue to “The Crown” is included in the Barnes & Noble special edition.

Has The Selection books series ended?

Yes, the last novel, The Crown, which was published in May 2016 is officially the last novel in the series, delivering the conclusion to the story.

Is there an adaptation of The Selection books series?

The Selection was going to be a CW Show a few years ago. There was even a second pilot developed and produced after the failure of the first one. But the project never found its way to the air.

A new adaptation was more recently announced, a movie for the streaming platform Netflix. No date has been announced yet.

More about the author of The Selection series

Who is Kiera Cass?

Kiera Cass is an American writer of Puerto Rican descent who was born in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. She is a graduate of Radford University.

Published in 2012 by HarperTeen, The Selection is her first (non-self-published) book and her first success. She is now a #1 New York Times bestselling author.

She is well-known for her young adult novels.

What has Kiera Cass written beyond The Selection series?

Even if The Selection occupies a big part in Kiera Cass’s bibliography, the series ended in 2016 and, since then, in 2020, the author launched a new series, a royal romance called The Betrothed–the sequel The Betrayed was published in 2021.

Also, in 2022, Cass published a standalone book, A Thousand Heartbeats, described as “a sweeping enemies-to-lovers romance.”