All the Three Dark Crowns Books in Order

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Discover how to read Three Dark Crowns‘ fantasy saga by Kendare Blake!

Three Dark Crowns Series in Order

You want to read Kendare Blake’s Three Dark Crowns book series, but are unsure of the best reading order? There are two ways you can approach the YA fantasy series and we explore both of them now!

Three Dark Crowns in Publication Order

Novelist Kendare Blare recommends reading the series in publication order, and it is generally the recommended way when you are a new reader.

Three Dark Crowns (2016)
One Dark Throne (2017)
The Young Queens (2017) (Novella) – collected in Queens of Fennbirn (2018)
The Oracle Queen (2018) (Novella) – collected in Queens of Fennbirn (2018)
Two Dark Reigns (2018)
Five Dark Fates (2019)

Three Dark Crowns Five-Books Box Set

Three Dark Crowns in Chronological Order

If you want to spice things up in your re-read of the series, you can go for the chronological order which puts the two novellas before the main book series, as both are prequel stories.

Queens of Fennbirn (2018)
Three Dark Crowns (2016)
One Dark Throne (2017)
Two Dark Reigns (2018)
Five Dark Fates (2019)

More information about Three Dark Crowns

A short synopsis of Three Dark Crowns

Kendare Blake’s fantasy series Three Dark Crowns revolves around three 16 year old sisters: Mirabella, Katharine, and Arsinoe. Following their mother’s passing away the story follows them as they compete for the throne as the future Queen of Fennbirn. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. 

Three Dark Crowns in Audiobooks

Good news! You can listen to Three Dark Crowns audiobooks, all narrated by Amy Landon.

The inspiration behind Three Dark Crowns

In a blog post on Pan Macmillan, author Kendare Blake shared her inspiration behind her young adult fantasy series:

I was at a book event in Oregon, a really cool one with a hot dog truck out back and local musician kids rocking on the guitar in the parking lot and some dancers and whatnot. But up in a nearby tree, was a literal ball of bees, and everyone was afraid of being stung. As luck would have it, there was a beekeeper on hand, and she told us to stay calm because the bees were swarming around their queen as they sought out a new hive, and would not stray from the ball unless provoked. So everything was fine.

I was fascinated by this ball of bees with the queen in the middle. Why did they do this? I asked. Was she in hiding? Fleeing from some terrible enemy? Damaging hive gossip? What happened to her old hive? The beekeeper told me that queen bees leave their hives for lots of reasons: hive growth, nearing death, etc. But before she left, she would have laid her queen eggs. Four or five of them, which would then hatch out and one would kill the others and take over.

For the whole drive home I couldn’t stop thinking about that. These poor bee-daughters. The brutality they were born into, straight out of their cups. And of course I really, really wanted to do that to people. So slowly, that desire combined with other bits of ideas that I wanted to work with, like witches, and a society run by women, and something that centered on sisterhood and female friendships, and animal companions, and poisons! And ultimately, that’s how Three Dark Crowns came to be.

Is there an adaptation of Three Dark Crowns?

In 2017, Variety announced that a ‘Three Dark Crowns’ Movie Adaptation was in the works at Fox, but nothing new since then.

More Readings After Three Dark Crowns

Other Books by Kendare Blake

Other fantasy book series with a little bit of competition