Tokyo Ghoul Manga Order: Your Complete Guide to the Dark Fantasy Seinen Series

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Tokyo Ghoul is a Japanese dark fantasy manga series written and illustrated by Sui Ishida.

The Story of Tokyo Ghoul

Welcome to the world of Tokyo Ghouls. It looks like our world with one notable difference: there are Ghouls among us. What is a Ghoul? Those beings look like normal humans, with the massive difference that they can solely eat the flesh of humans and other ghouls. As a result, they live secretly among humans, concealing their actual nature in order to avoid capture by the government.

Ken Kaneki was a normal college student with a love of literature until a violent event transformed him into the first half-human half-ghoul hybrid. He must survive Ghoul turf fights, learn more about Ghoul society, and harness his new skills while trapped between two worlds.

Our Manga Order to the Tokyo Ghoul Universe

The Tokyo Ghoul Universe consists of the original manga, Tokyo Ghoul, a spin-off prequel, a sequel, and several light novels. On top of that, the series has been adapted as an anime, live-action films, video game and a stage play. For more information about those adaptations, see below!

Tokyo Ghoul, the original manga and its spin-offs

Tokyo Ghoul (2011-2014)
The original manga, consisting of 14 volumes (143 chapters plus a side story), follows Ken Kaneki as he adjusts to his new existence as a half-human, half-ghoul.

Tokyo Ghoul: Jack (2013-2015)
A one-volume prequel narrative that follows Kishō Arima and Taishi Fura as they work together to investigate the death of Taishi’s friend at the hands of a ghoul.

Tokyo Ghoul:re (2014-2018)
Kaneki’s tale continues in the sequel manga, which has 16 volumes (179 chapters, chapter 31.5, and a single chapter Tokyo Ghoul Joker).

Tokyo Ghoul: Days (2013)
Light novel on the daily lives of the Tokyo Ghoul series’ characters.

Tokyo Ghoul: Void (2014)
Light novel that bridges the 6-month gap between volumes 8 and 9 of the original manga.

Tokyo Ghoul: Past (2014)
Light novel that takes place before the original manga and delves into the lives of various characters, including Ken Kaneki, Touka Kirishima, and Ayato Kirishima.

Tokyo Ghoul:re Quest (2016)
Light novel set during the events of Tokyo Ghoul :re. To prevent spoilers, read this after Chapter 98. It never got released in English.

Tokyo Ghoul, the complete box set (on

Tokyo Ghoul: Your Complete Manga Order (with the novels)

You will notice that the prequel stories are not placed at the beginning of this reading order. This is a guide for first-time readers, where it is not advised to read the prequel before the original manga.

Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 1
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 2
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 3
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 4
Tokyo Ghoul Days (novel set during vol.4)
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 5
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 6
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 7
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 8
Tokyo Ghoul Void (novel set between Vol. 8 & 9)
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 9
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 10
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 11
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 12
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 13
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 14
Tokyo Ghoul: Past (novel set before the original manga)

The story of Tokyo Ghoul continues immediately with the sequel manga Tokyo Ghoul: re. This actually can be a good moment to read the prequel story Jack, though you can choose to read it sooner, though we advise after Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 5.

Tokyo Ghoul: Jack (prequel story)
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 1
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 2
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 3
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 4
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 5
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 6
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 7
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 8
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 9
– Tokyo Ghoul:re Quest (novel set during the events of Tokyo Ghoul :re)

There are also two art books for those who want to delve more into the illustrations of Tokyo Ghoul: Tokyo Ghoul Illustrations: zakki and Tokyo Ghoul:re Illustrations: zakki.

Tokyo Ghoul Watch Guide Order

As said earlier, Tokyo Ghoul has been adapted as an anime television series and live action films. Following is a guide to help you find the best path to take among those adaptations!

Tokyo Ghoul Anime

Many Tokyo Ghoul fans think the anime didn’t do justice to the manga, as many cuts and changes have been made to the story. For a better understanding of the story, it is recommended to read the manga, especially before season 3.

Tokyo Ghoul (season 1)
12 episodes. It is a loose adaptation of the first 66 chapters of the original manga (meaning, the story goes until Vol. 7). Some cuts and changes are made.

Tokyo Ghoul JACK
an OVA (or special episode) prequel adapting the manga of the same name.

Tokyo Ghoul √A (season 2)
12 episodes. Adapt the rest of the original manga with more changes to the story.

Tokyo Ghoul PINTO
an OVA adapting the third chapter of the light novel Tokyo Ghoul: Days.

Tokyo Ghoul:re (season 3)
24 episodes. Sometimes presented as seasons 3 and 4 (with each season consisting of 12 episodes). An adaptation of the sequel

Tokyo Ghoul Live-Action Movies

Tokyo Ghoul has also been adapted into two movies. The first adapts the first 28 chapters (or 3 volumes) with minor changes. The sequel continues the story up to chapter 46 (or volume 5).

– Tokyo Ghoul (2017)
Directed by Kentarō Hagiwara and stars Masataka Kubota as Ken Kaneki and Fumika Shimizu as Tōka Kirishima

– Tokyo Ghoul S (2019)
Directed by Takuya Kawasaki and Kazuhiko Hiramaki. Stars Masataka Kubota as Ken Kaneki and Maika Yamamoto as Toka Kirishima.

Tokyo Ghoul has also been adapted as a Stage Play (2015 and 2017) and into several video games.

About the author of Tokyo Ghoul

Sui Ishida, born on December 28, 1986, in Fukuoka, Japan, is a manga author and illustrator best known for his acclaimed series Tokyo Ghoul.

In the first half of 2012, Ishida moved to Fukuoka, where he began his career as a mangaka. His breakthrough came in 2010 when he won the Young Jump 113th Grand Prix award with the oneshot Tokyo Ghoul. Following this success, Tokyo Ghoul was serialized in Weekly Young Jump. The series garnered immense popularity, and it is now one of the best-selling manga series of all time. Ishida expanded the Tokyo Ghoul Universe with some prequel and a sequel manga.

Ishida started a new project in 2019 by working on an otome game named Jack Jeanne, which was released in 2021.

It’s also in 2021 that Ishida began serializing his new manga series, Choujin X, in Tonari no Young magazine. The story follows two friends with different personality who lives in a district devastated by Choujins, humans with supernatural powers. When they encounter a deadly threat, they have no other choice than to choose to become Choujins themselves.

To continue to explore more best-selling manga, you can check out Fullmetal Alchemist written and illustrated by Hiromu Arakawan, then dive into the dark World of Kentaro Miura with Berserk.