Virgin River Books in Order: The Complete Reading Guide to Robyn Carr’s romance series

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Virgin River is a contemporary romance series set in the fictional town of Virgin River and written by Robyn Carr.

Reading the Virgin River Series in Order

Before Virgin River: The Grace Valley trilogy

Virgin River readers could be interested in reading the Grace Valley series, a trilogy of books set in another peaceful community in California. Many of the characters from Grace Valley feature in the Virgin River books.

Deep in the Valley (2001)
Just Over the Mountain (2002)
Down by the River (2003)

Virgin River in Publication Order

Virgin River (2007)
Shelter Mountain (2007)
Whispering Rock (2007)
A Virgin River Christmas (2008)
Second Chance Pass (2009)
Temptation Ridge (2009)
Paradise Valley (2009)
Under the Christmas Tree (2009, novella)
Forbidden Falls (2010)
Angel’s Peak (2010)
Moonlight Road (2010)
Sheltering Hearts (2010, novella)
Midnight Confessions (2010, novella)
Promise Canyon (2011)
Wild Man Creek (2011)
Harvest Moon (2011)
Bring Me Home for Christmas (2011)
Hidden Summit (2012)
Redwood Bend (2012)
Sunrise Point (2012)
My Kind of Christmas (2012)
Return to Virgin River (2020)

e-Book Collections

The Virgin River series have also been released in an e-book box set collection

Virgin River Collection Volume 1 ( Virgin River, Shelter Mountain, Whispering Rock, A Virgin River Christmas)
Virgin River Collection Volume 2 (Second Chance Pass, Temptation Ridge, Paradise Valley, Under the Christmas Tree)
Virgin River Collection Volume 3 (Forbidden Falls, Angel’s Peak, Moonlight Road, Midnight Confessions)
Virgin River Collection Volume 4 (Promise Canyon, Wild Man Creek, Harvest Moon, Bring Me Home for Christmas)
Virgin River Collection Volume 5 (Hidden Summit, Redwood Bend, Sunrise Point, My Kind of Christmas)

More about the Virgin River series

The Story of Virgin River

Welcome to Virgin River, a remote northern California town that might be the perfect place to escape.

This is what thinks the recently widowed Melinda Monroe when she sees an ad for a Midwife/nurse practitioner in Virgin River, population six hundred. Rent-free cabin included.

But her high hopes are dashed within an hour of arriving: the cabin is a dump, the roads are treacherous and the local doctor wants nothing to do with her. Realizing she’s made a huge mistake, Mel decides to leave town the following morning.

But a tiny baby, abandoned on a front porch, changes her plans…and a former marine cements them into place.

Melinda’s story is the first of the Virgin River series, where each book centered on different characters from the town.

Does the Virgin River series need to be read in order?

As each book focuses on different characters in the community, you don’t have to read them in order.

It should be noted that there is overlap with characters who were the focus of one book and appear in later books. Virgin River is after all a community where people help each other!

How many books are there in the Virgin River series?

There are 19 novels in the Virgin River series, and three short stories/novellas taking place in the town!

Where can I find Virgin River’s short stories and novellas?

Robyn Carr wrote three short stories/novellas set in Virgin River. You can find them all

– “Under the Christmas Tree” was originally published in the anthology That Holiday Feeling (2009). It has been reissued in ‘Tis the Season anthology (2004), and as a standalone e-book.
– “Sheltering Hearts” was originally published in the sixth volume of the More than Words anthology (2010), and reissued as a free standalone e-book.
– And finally, “Midnight Confessions” was originally published in the Midnight Kiss anthology (2010) and has been reissued in ‘Tis the Season anthology (2004), and as a standalone e-book.

Has the Virgin River books series ended?

Robyn Carr published Return to Virgin River in 2020, eight years after the previous book. There is no information at this date about a new novel or a new short story, but it could happen. Who knows?

Is there an adaptation of Virgin River?

Virgin River is now a television series. The book series has been adapted for the streaming service Netflix. Robyn Carr is an executive producer on the television adaptation.

Alexandra Breckenridge plays Melinda, a nurse practitioner in search for a fresh start. She moves from LA to a remote northern California town and is surprised by what — and who — she finds. Martin Henderson, Colin Lawrence, Lauren Hammersley, Annette O’Toole, Tim Matheson, Benjamin Hollingsworth also star in the series.

About the author of the Virgin River series

Who is Robyn Carr?

Robyn Carr is an American author of contemporary and historical romance books. She studied to become a nurse, but couldn’t really pursue a career in that field, as she was following her US Air Force husband from base to base. They didn’t stay in one play long enough for it.

Robyn Carr turned to writing when a difficult pregnancy forced her to be off of her feet. Since then, she wrote more than 50 books and has been translated into 19 languages in 30 countries.

What has Robyn Carr written beyond the Virgin River series?

Robyn Carr has published more than 50 books, from stand-alone novels to popular series like Virgin River.

Her earliest novels were historical romances, though she really found her voice by writing contemporary romance and women’s fiction. the Grace Valley was her first series set in a small town in California, followed by the Virgin River series.

She also published the Thunder Point series, set in a coastal Oregon community, and the Sullivan’s Crossing series, set in the Rocky Mountains.