Will Trent Books in Order

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Written by Karin Slaughter, this series takes place in Atlanta and features GBI special agent Will Trent, his partner Faith Mitchell, and Angie Polaski.

Reading the Will Trent Series in Order

The publication order of the Will Trent series is the same as the chronological order.

Triptych (2006)
Fractured (2008)
Undone (2009, aka Genesis in UK and Australia)
Broken (2010)
Fallen (2011)
Snatched (2012, ebook novella)
Criminal (2012)
Busted (2013, ebook novella)
Unseen (2013)
The Kept Woman (2016)
Cleaning the Gold (2019, A Jack Reacher and Will Trent Short Story)
The Last Widow (2019)
The Silent Wife (2020)

The Story of the Will Trent series

Special Agent Will Trent of the Georgia Bureau of Investigations is working for the Criminal Apprehension Team with detective Faith Mitchell–and reports directly to the director, Amanda Wagner.

He’s also dyslexic, but that doesn’t stop him from being the best agent in the bureau. Also, he has a college degree and a doctorate in criminology.

More about the Will Trent series

Does the Will Trent series need to be read in order?

The books have been written with the idea that you can read one without having read any other novel in the series.

Nevertheless, it is recommended to read them in order to appreciate the evolution of the characters and their relationships.

How many books are there in the Will Trent series?

For now, the Will Trent series is composed of 10 full-length novels, and multiple novellas (see below).

Where can I find Will Trent’s short stories and novellas?

Individually, Will Trent’s short stories and novellas are available on Amazon Kindle, but you can also find them with other novels from the series.

Busted is available in the paperback version of Unseen, and Snatched is reprinted in the paperback version of Criminal.

Has the Will Trent books series ended?

No. The Will Trent series is still ongoing!

Is there an adaptation of the Will Trent books series?

In August 2022, the American TV network announced that a Will Trent TV adaptation–starring Ramón Rodríguez as Trent and Iantha Richardson as Faith Mitchell–had been picked up and will be launched in 2023.

Ramón Rodríguez is Will Trent on ABC

About the author of the Will Trent series

Who is Karin Slaughter?

Karin Slaughter is an award-winning bestselling American crime writer who already wrote more than twenty novels–published in 120 countries with more than 40 million copies sold across the globe.

She also founded Save the Libraries, a non-profit organization that campaigns to support US public libraries.

What has Karin Slaughter written beyond the Will Trent series?

Beyond the Will Trent series, Karin Slaughter also writes the Grant County series, and stand-alone novels like Pretty Girls, The Good Daughter, False Witness, and Pieces of Her. The last one has been made into a Netflix show starring Toni Collette.